We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“England at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingston House
Ranked #27 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“England at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Park up the car and relax. Thats what we did for three days at the start of September,10mins from the sea front about 20mins to town at a gentle stroll.Warren and Jill were just like old friends very helpful.Our stay was excellent well worth another visit.Jill recommended the No7 fish restaurant 10 out of ten, if you like fish make sure you book!Many thanks to Warren and Jill all the best for the future Mark and April.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
133
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Myself and my new Wife Natalie have just got back from possibly the very best B&B in Torquay. We have visited the very best of what the Caribbean has to offer previously and therefore do high expectations. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we felt very much at home. Really do not need to say any more the rest of the reviews are spot one... Don’t waste your time considering any other accommodation just book with Kingston House you will not regret it.

The newly Mr & Mrs Johnson

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a week staying with Jill and Warren at their B&B. They could not have been more helpful with directions of places to visit and even driving guests to and from various pick up points. Nothing was too much trouble. The whole house was always clean and tidy. Breakfast was extremely well cooked and the menu covered most tastes. Jill and Warren are a very good happy team and the business can only go from success to success. We wish them well. Sheila & Derek.

Room Tip: All good rooms from what we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a great place to stay. The welcome, the cleanliness, the food and everything you want from a first class establishment.

We stayed there for a long weekend over the Bank Holiday and all I can say is don't try anywhere else. I don't lavish praise easily and I have stayed on business trips in many hotels but this B&B was very good value for money.

Thoroughly recommended with the owners just lovely people.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor room to avoid the stairs, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous weekend in Torquay. We stayed at the Kingston House B&B 5 *, could have quite easily have given it a few more stars!!
Warren & Jill are THE perfect Hosts and absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
We met family there and they had travelled down by train, They were collected from the train station, driven to Kingston house and were enjoying Tea and Biscuits by the time we arrived!
Upon our arrival we were immediately offered Tea, Coffe,Beer, Wine and cake, after a six hour drive due to the beloved M25 we took up the offer of the beer!
Once unpacked and ready to go we were given a lift into town and shown the way, and best places to go, Jill had already booked us into "the Hole in the Wall" for our evening meal and i highly reccommend, so reasonably priced too.
We were told about the "Round Robin Trip" which we did on the Sunday, what a lovely day too.
Sunday evening we were reccommended a "good" steak house approx 10 minutes walk from Kingston House, from the outside the "Ocean Diner" doesn't look much but i can honestly say it is prabably the best Steak you will eat in Years!
Breakfast at Kingston House is Devine! Warren certainly knows how to cook a good Devonshire breakfast and Jill is BRILLIANT front of house, ( she also makes a very good Lemon drizzle cake)
The rooms were kept IMMACULATE, and were very good sizes, we stayed in room 5 which has a lovely 4 poster bed the bed was very comfortable and the towels and linen are of the best quality.
There is a very generous sized guest lounge, Jill goes out each and every morning and gets the daily papers in for the guests.
All in all, Staying at Kingston house has been the BEST B&B experience all round and i cannot reccommend it highly enough.
Kingston House is approx 20-25 mins walk from the sea front and once there we didn't need to use the car once!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good and of a very high standard, if you require a room on the ground floor book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Su G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Jill and Warren are the most fantastic B&B owners - they have customer service absolutely and completely nailed - 1000%. We could not have been made more welcome and nothing was too much trouble at any time. Despite being fully booked, we got the level of service that made us think we were the only guests The place was spotless in all areas; the room and bed and really comfortable. Having fresh milk in the room for tea and coffee was magic - hate the little plastic UHT pots! Breakfast just as we wanted and served with a wonderful smile at all times. This was the third B&B that we have stayed in this week - it was by far the best and has taken the B&B experience to a whole new level. They definitely don't charge enough for this level of comfort and service. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable - we'll definitely be back - Simon and Hamilton

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

What an amazing couple! Kingston House is run by Jill and Warren who deserve the highest award for their exceptional service! Upon arrival Jill offered us a more than welcome glass of Rose to sooth our troubled spirits, after a 2hr motorway holdup left us struggling to meet a deadline for our boat party later that evening. A taxi arranged by them earlier, was also cancelled by them, but Warren instisted that he gave us a lift to the pick up point to catch the boat! Wow! The bedrooms and reception rooms were delightfull, very comfortable and spotless and all very tastefully decorated. The breakfast was delicious, and the fresh fruit salad ( strawberries, kiwi's, blueberries grapes etc.,was a perfect starter to the full Devon sourced bacon sausage and eggs, followed by a morning coffee and Sunday papers in the siiting room. Forgot to mention the frest milk in the fridge in the room for tea, so rare these days. This couple have taken the level of service to an exceptionally high standard. We've just travelled around Scotland staying in a lot of 4 star hotels, but, the service at Kingston house topped them all! I've got a sneaking suspicion that nowhere in future will come near their exemplary performance!

Room Tip: The biggest disappointment would be if they were fully booked and you couldn't get a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#15 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#13 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#20 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House

Property: Kingston House
Address: 75 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kingston House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-Star charming privately run Victorian Villa is just a mile from Torquay's town centre and harbour with good rail links. The elegant rooms are light and airy and all are decorated and furnished to a high standard of luxury and comfort making for a relaxing stay. Free car parking on the forecourt with Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access throughout.All guest rooms are well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, mini fridge, complimentary bottled water, fresh milk. All rooms are en-suite with good quality toiletries. Good quality hairdryers, digital radio alarm clock, 32in LED Flat Screen TVs. Iron and ironing board available on request. Breakfast is included in the price and is freshly cooked to order using local produce where possible. Kingston House is ideal for both business travellers and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kingston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing