We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ”
Review of The Belmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant stay here for two nights on the 6th and 7th of September for our anniversary. We used a gift voucher for one of the nights but this didn't hinder the service we received at all; Gary and Sue the owners were lovely and very helpful. We had a clean, pretty room right at the top and although it was a lot of stairs it was just what we wanted.
Breakfast was 5* and we would definitely recommend to anyone

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hollywxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked this fairly last minute for the Jamie Cullum gig in the Princess theatre, stayed for 2 nights. Belgrave road is a fantastic central location and I would highly recommend the Belmont. Very friendly owners (even called to check how we were and when we would arrive) with very clean, spacious rooms. I would certainly stay here again. Also, the breakfast was great.

One word of advice, if you can't hack stairs (which we didn't mind) then go for a room near the lower floors if you can. We were in 11 and it was a looooong way up haha

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable and with a full English breakfast (or a great choice of menu items) included offered good value. Sue and Gary were perfect hosts and couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. Good central location. My recommendation when booking would be to request a room at the rear of the building as ours was at the front on the main street and the traffic was very noisy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The owners were really friendly and made us feel really welcome. Fab location, easy to walk to beach and shops with a really nice pub opposite. The breakfast was amazing and there was lots of choice (although we just had the full breakfast!!). We will definitely come back later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a lovely night here for my partners birthday. As it was her birthday they upgraded our room for free.

Breakfast was great, only slight issue was a noisy radiator. Good cheap accommodation, could not grumble for the money! Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main road which was slightly noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syep2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My gf and myself have stayed here twice before. The couple who own the place sue and Gary are very welcoming and will bend over backwards to help you in whatever you need. The car park has only 2 spaces so its 1st come 1st served but we never used it as we use a side street and never had any problems. The rooms are always very clean and tidy with shower etc tv and tea making facilities. The town centre is a 20 to 30 minute walk but on a nice day is quite pleasant. I would highly recommend the Belmont and we will continue to stay here every time were in Torquay....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I really liked this place. Lots of character, very good service and a great breakfast. Worth the money.
Quite a long hike up the stairs to our room, but there's a car park out back (for two cars only - we were lucky). Not perfect, but I prefer a bit of wear and tear to a sterile Premier Inn 'everything nailed down' hovel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyboy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
1.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#35 of 87 in Torquay
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont

Property: The Belmont
Address: 66 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#19 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing