We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked 4 nights stayed 5 :-)”
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howden Court Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
northwest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Booked 4 nights stayed 5 :-)”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Well this hotel is fantastic, made so by a very warm welcome by the owners, superb rooms - would definitely recomend the Admiral room as well as the Studio room after having a look at those - and delicious meals. Everyone was friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. The flat pathway, at the bottom of the garden, was a god send and within less than 10mins we were on the front. This is a true family run hotel who strive to make your holiday a memorable and relaxing one. Have no hesitation on recommending this hotel at all. Can't comment on evening entertainment. We took my parents who are in their 80's and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the warm relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. They had no trouble walking into Torquay via the hotel shortcut! All in all we couldn't have enjoyed our break more. The hotel is a credit to its owners. Well done and thank you so much :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were of a very high standard - the Admiral room - a traditional room with a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
WOW! What a fantastic review. We really do appreciate guests who appreciate what we do!! Your review really does give us a lot of praise but some of the 'feel good' factor must go towards the great weather we all had in south Devon during early April. Having said that, we do hope to provide a service that includes a friendly, relaxed atmosphere that generally only family run businesses tend to supply. Remember I said generally - there are always exceptions to the rule.
We would hope to see you all return in the near future to Howden Court Hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review.

All the best, have a great summer.

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    42
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
72
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a cosy hotel run by a family that tries very hard to please. Don't be put off by the facade, inside, the hotel is palatial, warm and very welcoming. We upgraded to the Admirals Room (21) this room is massive, it's full of romantic period furniture complete with a large, comfortable canopied bed. It offers a great view over the beautiful garden and beyond. We had a very relaxing weekend and will certainly return again. Excellent value for money. We arrived as guests but left as friends.

Room Tip: If you want romance and cuddles go for the admirals Room. A very quite south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for your words of praise. We will always try to ensure our guests have a great stay here in sunny Torquay! We hope that we offer guests a good standard of accommodation but with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere alongside. Tripadvisor is a valuable tool for guests to use in their search for the right establishment and is a great platform to provide feedback that can help both the hotel proprietor and any potential new guest.
We hope to see you return to Howden Court Hotel in the near future. If for some reason the Admirals room is not available then why not try one of our bayview rooms, alternatively one of the garden rooms leading directly onto our south facing garden are equally as appealing. The Studio room is also a popular choice, no sea views but this again is a large room and furnished in a more contemporary style.
All the very best.

Peter
Howden Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I have stayed at the hotel and it's nothing short of amazing! The staff are ever so friendly and polite, they have kept me entertained all week especially with all Pete and Brian's shenanigans. What also was very surprising was the standard of the rooms they are great especially being a single traveller I had a great size room that was clean and well decorated! There will be no stopping me coming again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Youngladgetsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for giving us such a good review. Although you stayed in one of our single rooms you have stated how surprised you were to find it of good size and nicely decorated. These are both important points to note, only too often do you hear of single guests worried that they may end up in a broom cupboard. Here at Howden Court Hotel every guests is of equal importance. In regards to Peter (myself) and Brian (ents manager,) well we do try to give that extra something to make our guests stay with us a memorable one.
We hope to see you here again in the near future.

All the best.

Peter
Howden Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

stayed for 5 day break lovely hotel close to centre of Torquay.All the staff are friendly and helpful all areas of the hotel are clean the bedroom was comfortable with tea and coffee in the room.The food was lovely with a good choice for breakfast and evening meal.there is entertainment in the evenings
Bingo games and singing.I had a lovely time at this hotel would recommend it to my freinds and family.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egghead10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. You stayed on one of our 'Winter Warmers' just after the New Year and we look to provide a memorable holiday any time of the year. We seem to have succeeded. we would hope to welcome you back to Howden Court Hotel again in the near future. Perhaps might like to experience one of our theme breaks. All the best for now.

Peter
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a wonderful 15 days at the Howden Court, including Christmas and the New Year. We couldn't have asked for better. There was always something to do. Food was excellent, rooms were very clean and fresh. The staff was brilliant, nothing too much trouble. The Christmas decorations were beautiful. I would ( and I do ) recommend Howden Court to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jean_fletcher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
A great review from one of our regular guests. It is always nice to get a good review and we always appreciate feedback from new guests, however it is equally important that our existing guests are provided with at least an equal standard of service compared to previous stays with us or an even better experience if we can provide that. We do try and celebrate our Christmas & New Year in style and each year hope to better our Christmas decorations, even guests staying at other hotels ask to visit Santa's grotto and view the décor. Thank you for taking the time and effort with this review. We look forward to greeting you at Howden Court hotel in the near future.

Peter
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

To be honest if you didn't enjoy the week you were either dim or dead. And everyone i looked at or talked too was enjoying themselves. The food was great, Bedrooms great, service Great,
Staff, yes you got it GREAT. Did i have any problems YES. The bloody shower was not working. But with a word in peters shell like, and the man was there Tool in hand!!! Job done. The toaster caught light, and set the alarm off. So single file on the toaster. I can honestly say i was not looking forward to the stage show @ £16.00 But was i prooved wrong on that one, Just try it and you will not be dissapointed, trust me. I would have loved to have taken my grandchildren to that instead of the christmas panto's with their non children stupid Innuendos. This was a professional show. I could of easily see it again, Bingo is not my pleasure but the Dynamic Duo made it work. The Beer was not my choice but i drank it. priced 20pence over the top, but i would have said that if it was 20p cheaper. Evening entertainment was good but they could have tried different songs on different nights but thats me, I still tapped my feet. The games were a challenge if you had trouble laughing or wore something tight.
I CERTAINLY WOULD NOT GO AGAIN, unless i went with the same people.
For the price i cannot see you beating it, Thats not a reason for charging more next year Peter.
Merry christmas all.
PS TRY Cherry's cafe for a cuppa and tea cake,( top of the road) very friendly/nice people. you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Another fantastic Review. Thank you for your review which includes feedback on Babbacombe Theatre matinee show and also a local café nearby. You stated that the food and accommodation was great at Howden Court, thank you. You noted that you had a problem with the shower in your room, you bought this problem to my attention and we did our best to resolve it as quickly as possible. It is always best to highlight any problem immediately when staying at a hotel or guest house, this gives the proprietor a chance to make good. On occasions a guest suffers in silence and then resorts to making their point via a review site after they have left! Not the best way to go about things. We would much rather know the problem direct from the guest so thanks again. Games night is always popular and we do like to involve our guests on games night - especially the 'spoon game' & 'hat game'. Glad you enjoyed it so much!
We look forward to seeing you return in the future.
Have a great Christmas and a Happy New year!
Peter
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Having experienced a week-end break full of laughs earlier in the year, we could not wait to be greeted by all the staff at the start of our Xmas Turkey and Tinsel week. Well, we laughed from the moment we were met, the Hotel now looking like a Winter Wonderland.. Try as we may we cannot fault the staff, Hotel, food and the great entertainment. All the staff work so well together to make our week special.
Val, in Reception and Kevin as Santa need a mention.
If anyone fancies a jolly good laugh and very happy banter in superb surrounds, then do not delay in booking!
Well done Peter (Twinkle) Gail and a very special Manager, Brian.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I am extremely pleased to receive this review because it also highlights some of our team members that help provide the complete package at Howden Court Hotel. You made special note for Val our receptionist, the best thing since sliced bread! You also praised Kevin, our coach Driver who is a true Ambassador for Howden Court Hotel and our longest serving employee to boot! A special mention also went out for Brian our mad cap entertainments manager. Of course there are more team members involved that perhaps do not get the same recognition by name because they are working in the side lines but none the less they all perform important tasks that help create the final end product.
Thank you so much for the praise. We hope to see you return once again in the near future.

Peter
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 87 in Torquay
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Property: Howden Court Hotel
Address: 23 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing