We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good as it Gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #65 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As Good as it Gets”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is a genuine gem.
There was a problem with the website booking and it shouldn't have let the transaction go through as they close at the end of September, and we wanted to stay the first week of October. So, you know what they did? They stayed open just for us! Amazing. That kind of commitment to guests means a lot.
When we arrived, the lady owner was at the door waiting to welcome us. Throughout our stay she was thoughtful, friendly, always happy to help or advise and never made us feel like we were in the way.
The hotel itself is immaculate and occupies one of the best positions in the whole area with beautiful, very well cared for gardens and views of Meadfoot bay. It is also very quiet and we weren't woken up once by traffic or other noisy irritations.
Breakfasts were delicious (we asked where she got her sausages: Waitrose. Not cheap ones from a local cash & carry. Blooming Waitrose!). And she certainly knows how to poach an egg. Also try the haddock and the kippers. Absolutely mouth watering.
The location is quite out of the way, so a car would be an advantage but isn't essential. Also (and this is just a personal view) the guesthouse probably wouldn't suit families with children, although during high summer the outdoor pool would probably keep the little ones entertained.
This hotel isn't cheap, but you really do get what you pay for and it doesn't get much better than this. The owner makes you feel like a valued guest and not a necessary evil. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanSheaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
75
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

we booked 5 out of the 6 rooms for a weekend. overall hotel very good and very clean. however, thought was overpriced. we were in haldon suite- most expensive in hotel. had no view except a concrete wall and looked into next doors room. as end of season, felt like staff just going through motions. outdoor pool closed and very dirty. patio doors didn't open.patio heaters didn't work. gym /games rooms we had to ask about, as all locked up. couldnt use after 7pm!!!!. as this is a tourist place to visit, most people out in the daytime or at the beach, seems a bit ridiculous that it cant be used after 7pm. quite disappointed due to the amount of money paid.

Room Tip: all rooms quiet, but quite expensive as they vary so much in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_rogers108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for the first time with a very dear friend who's been going there for many years. The hotel is ideally placed - just a short walk from Meadfoot beach. It is beautifully decorated and immaculate. The owner offered us fantastic personal service- nothing ever appeared to be too much trouble for her. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other people, and cannot wait to return.........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 343Allison343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This guest house was a real positive surprise. Its wonderful situation above Meadfoot beach, the beautiful house itself and the lovely decorated rooms.

Additionally the propriertors were absolutely nice and courteous and helpful. During our stay we had the enduring feeling of being welcomed and cared of.

We wil definitely come back and can highly recommend to book your overnight stay in Torquay at this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We (my husband myself and our 5 year old) stayed for a couple of days in August and we loved it - haldon priors is a beautiful place with high ceilings and large airy rooms. We had the sea view room and the bed was so comfortable. It has an indoor and outdoor pool - we only used the indoor pool which was lovely and warm. It is only a short walk to either the sea or the harbour so it's perfectly placed. The owner, Ping, is really lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Thank you for a beautiful stay.

Room Tip: Sea view room has a really comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

went here in august for four days ,was quite expensive so wasnt sure what to expect,this guest house is absolutly immaculate,i have never been in a better guest house,lovely lady called ping,who ownes it, was so nice,nothing was a problem,rooms are 5 star plus,everything in the place is quality,breakfast was the best ive had on holiday,only thing was the outdoor pool was closed as it had not been cleaned due to bad weather ,but there was a lovely indoor heated pool to use,was a bit dissapointed with that ,but thats it ,everything else was first class,going back next year,cant wait,thanks so much ping had a fab time xxxx

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed here 4 years ago and had a wonderful couple of days, We recently returned for a long weekend. On both occasions we have stayed in the junior suite which has one of the most comfortable beds I think we have ever slept in.

The standard the first time was exceptional but Ping has now upgraded her facilities to include a wonderful indoor swimming pool and fantastic terrace with lovely views of the sea. You can not find fault with anything at Haldon Priors the hospitality and warmth shown to you from the onset continues for the duration of your stay with nothing being too much trouble.

I informed Ping that it was partners birthday when I booked the room and a card and chocolates were waiting for him on our bed when we returned from breakfast. Breakfast itself is an extremely relaxed affair and the quality of the food is wonderful as is the choice.

We actually chose to remain in the hotel on one day, but what a great way to spend a day. We swam, relaxed in the jacuzzi chairs and chilled out in the sauna, we rounded our day off by lounging on the terrace in the sunshine with a bottle of fizz. We definitely return as Spain just doesn't seem as appealing now

Well done to everyone at Haldon Priors..

Room Tip: The junior suite is a little bit dark but the bed and the marble bathroom more than make up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
503 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delamere Court
Delamere Court
#28 of 34 in Torquay
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#3 of 87 in Torquay
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast

Property: Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haldon Priors is a charming guesthouse in Torquay, set within a Victorian villa and situated in a peaceful location with 3/4 acre of beautifully landscaped gardens and just 200 yards from Meadfoot beach.Noted for its warm hospitality, Haldon Priors provides a uniquely relaxing ambience for guests to unwind and restore a sense of well-being.We have indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, with hydro-massage facilities in the indoor pool. The outdoor pool is surrounded by sub-tropical gardens and after a long swim, why not enjoy the comfort of a relaxing sauna!The Hotel has 6 Luxury Bedrooms to offer for our guests. All rooms are individually designed to give that extra warm feeling, they are all equipped with ensuite facilities, television and stereo hi-fi system.For the convenience of our guests, there is free WiFi.We are not licensed, but you are welcome to bring your own wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haldon Priors Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing