We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star for the second year running”
Review of Villa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Marina
Ranked #21 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Villa Marina and we have already booked our annual family weekend again for next year.
Viv & Peter are perfect hosts, they make you feel very welcome and nothing seems any effort.
The villa is spotless and very well furnished. The Breakfast is all local produce and cooked perfectly, sets you up until evening dinner.
Thanks again and look forward to next year :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_H686_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 265 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here whilst on a short business trip. Our hosts were just the loveliest people you could meet. This is a very smart house with very comfortable contemporary bedrooms. The breakfast menu is extensive and all cooked to perfection. In addition, on our arrival we were offered a Devon Cream Tea - a lovely touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a lovely weekend on 5th July . Met Pete and Viv on arrival , really friendly couple, really nice room , good breakfast and so nice and quiet. Spotlessly clean. We were offered free scones and cream and pot of tea on the lawn
Pete very helpful on where to eat, you must try Man Friday for seafood on the front it's excellent.
Wouldn't hesitate to stop here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad one so any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We both like Man Fridays too! It is hard to pick out an all time favorite as there are so many excellent places to eat in Torquay, but that is one of the ones at the top of our list. They make you feel so special and the food is superb - even for me who is not a great fish lover! We enjoyed having you as guests and pleased to think we helped to make your stay special for you. Hope to see you again soon V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at Villa Marina with my fiance - it was wonderful.
The B&B is absolutely spotless and our lovely big room ("Cary") was the perfect base for a weekend in the Torquay sunshine! Beautiful garden views and enormous bed, impossible not to wake up happy!
The tea tray was wonderfully stocked with lovely posh biscuits and there were little treats like fresh fruit and Cadbury's Roses in the room, a lovely touch. There is also a communal fridge with extra treats (on an 'honesty box' system) - we used the fridge to chill wine and soda water for summer white wine spritzers overlooking the garden!
Stay here if you go to Torquay. Such a lovely warm welcome and so clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: "Cary" is huge with great views and a super king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJ0nesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Yes you made good use of your few days and had the weather to go with it. It was so nice to see the garden used to relax with a chilled glass of wine in the late evening after a hectic day enjoying yourselves. Even though it got dark it was still warm enough to sit with bare arms - wonderful!
We are both pleased that you had a great time and that your special day went so well. Hope to see you next year on your anniversary! V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My fiancé & I took our first trip to Torquay recently & after reading all the wonderful reviews on here about Villa Marina we decided this place was worth a visit.

Upon our arrival we met Pete & Viv who were both very friendly & welcoming. After Pete discovered this was our 1st visit he was quick to suggest all the places we'd might like to visit & nice places to eat. We were grateful for his help as with such little time (2 nights) we wanted to see/ do as much as possible.

Our room was called the "Singer" room - a spacious room which was located on the ground floor with a lovely view of their beautiful garden.
The room & en-suite were both spotless & the bed was very comfortable.

At breakfast there was a fantastic selection to choose from-something for everyone. My fiancé & I decided on the fresh warm croissants which were delicious & there was a selection of jams/ honey to choose from.

It was obvious Pete & Viv cared greatly about all their guests & wanted to ensure we were all comfortable & enjoying our stay. Being a customer service advisor & trainer I tend to expect a high standard of Customer Service which was certainly what both Pete& Viv provided throughout our stay.

The only downside to our trip was that it wasn't long enough & we needed a few more days!

We will not hesitate to recommend Villa Marina - it was definitely also value for money  & when we return to Torquay we will ensure to book a room here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussyEater83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

I'm so pleased that I didn't know you were a customer service trainer.!.... although we do try to treat everyone with the same high level of courtesy and respect. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave us such a glowing report and telling everyone first hand about what we provide - including all the local jams. It is appreciated and helpful to those looking for somewhere they can trust to book their holiday. Hope to see you again one day. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived to when we left 3 days later, the owners of this lovely B&B were so welcoming and friendly. We were offered a cream tea and a hot drink on arrival and throughout our stay were given very useful little tips on where's best to eat, places to see and travel tips. Every morning the breakfast was cooked fresh and we were given many options, from cereal to fruit to a cooked breakfast! The standard of the whole B&B was excellent! The hallway had a range of useful leaflets and the decor was lovely. The standard of the room was above and beyond what I imagined! The en-suite was equipped with a great power shower and the bedroom was extremely spacious, with plenty of space for your belongings, a tv and a wonderfully comfortable bed! And of course, the view was great too! Everything had been thought through, right down to the smallest details, such as providing a fridge if you brought chilled drinks back. The whole place was spotless and it was clear that the owners loved it there and took great care of it - it's not hard to see why they have won awards! I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to stay in the area as it's close to the sea front, we'll certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We hope you are safely back and ready for the summer break. Thank you for posting the photo's, it is good to see some that I haven't taken! Much appreciated. We hop to see you again one day.
V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Villa Marina now for a number of years and its always been a treat from start to finish, I am a pensioner on my own and get picked up and taken back when I have to leave all part of the service. The service they offer is second to none, the breakfasts are great and the as is the accommodation which is of the highest level, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone.
Viv and Peter make you feel at home straight away by giving you a lovely cream tea it is in my opinion the best B&B in Devon. Derek Fletcher

Room Tip: A room over looking their lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fletcher Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

As one of our regulars we truly value your opinion and custom. I hope you continue to enjoy many more visits to Villa Marina. We had some lovely times and thank you for all that you did for us. Hope you enjoy your retirement. At least you should find it easier to get away then. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Torquay
Harmony Torquay
#24 of 149 in Torquay
208 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Address: Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $62 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful detached 4**** Victorian Villa provides award-winning guest accommodation exclusively for adults. Enjoy peaceful and calm surroundings, exceptional levels of hospitality and service, and delicious breakfasts from locally sourced produce, cooked how you like. Winner of the English Riviera Tourism Award, Silver Award in the Visit Devon Awards and a "Highly Commended" in the South West Awards. Being also recepients of the coveted Visit Britain Silver Award and the Enjoy England Breakfast Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marina Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing