We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Villa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Marina
Ranked #18 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

we stayed at the villa marina in may for 3 nights, we had a lovely welcome, our room was spotless as was the rest of the house, the owners were very helpful with things to do in the area that would suit our taste and which restaurants were worth a visit, breakfast was fantastic. would recommend villa marina to anyone visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

What fantastic weather you had for your few days here in Torquay. There has been so much doom and gloom this year about the rain but actually it has been lovely here when it has not been elsewhere - that's why the Torbay was so popular as a resort and somewhere for the wealthy Victorians to come for a rest of health cure I suppose. Lets hope that if you are ever this way again the weather is as good for you. Thank you for the review. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 268 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Viv and Peter were friendly and very helpful. As we were only staying one night, Peter recommended where we should go to make the most of our stay. Our room was clean and the wifi worked well. A good breakfast to top it off. Very enjoyable and would recommend to any other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

It was lovely to see you. We did enjoy pointing you in the right direction to get the best out of your short time here and hope that you will take many happy memories back to Australia with you. There is so much to see and do in the Torbay area that it is hard to single out anyone thing. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is so helpful. Perhaps we will see you again one day. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After a long journey,we started our stay with a delicious cream tea-what a treat! Viv and Peter were wonderful hosts and our room was superbly clean and fresh. We loved the plentiful milk and lots of tea and coffee in our room. We stayed in the room with the bay window and after a day of exploring , it was great to sit, looking out , with drinks . Our breakfasts were amazing- lots of variety and a great start to day. Peter is an excellent cook! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The room with the bay window with views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkerbell123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

At least the weather was good enough for you to enjoy the views from your window. The room you were in (Mallock) is ideal for that, being one of the bigger ones on the first floor. We are glad that you enjoyed the complementary cream tea. It is glorious today for that, our incoming guests have taken advantage of the sunshine and enjoyed theirs in the garden. We are glad that you had a wonderful time here in the Bay and look forward to seeing you again one day. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Would thoroughly recommend the Villa Marina if looking for a small hotel in Torquay. The proprietors Viv and Peter are so friendly and helpful. It is so obvious they want your stay to be enjoyable and pay so much attention to detail. The rooms are spotless and well furnished and the breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davjno80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Villa Marina. We do our best to please so it is always nice when that is appreciated. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will be back to sample more of the many things the Bay has to offer one day. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our second stay and once again it was faultless. Beautiful room and spotlessly clean. Yet again viv and Peter could not be more welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic especially the eggs benadict and florentine which we both enjoyed so much.
I do not it would be possible to find a better place to stay in Torquay and would highly recommend it to anyone. We are both looking forward to returning again soon. Thank you viv and Peter for making our stay so special.
mick and Joe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickalan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Again...a pleasure to have such interesting guests to stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the room excelled. Definitely no cockroaches here! ....and even if there were I would make sure they had a clean hanky and had washed behind their ears that morning! We wish you well with your new venture. It sounds perfect and as though you will find it interesting, fulfilling and hopefully profitable. Keep in touch. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is by far the best guest house we have stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble from the moment we stepped in until we left. These owners care passionately about their guests - and it shows.
Fantastic cream tea when we arrived, superb breakfast - all you can eat and a wonderful experience all round. Peter even took care of my wife when she fell and sprained her ankle - going above and beyond to ferry her to the conference centre on more than one occasion.
If we go back to Torquay this will be the place for us to stay.

Thanks to Peter and Vivienne Fisher - a credit to the industry.

Room Tip: The Mallock room is well appointed and has oodles of space to put things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a glowing review for us. It is so helpful, not just for us but especially for other potential guests. Both Pete and I are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, despite the sprained ankle. I do hope it is on the mend now. You were model guests and a joy to have staying. We hope you will come this way again soon. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We felt very welcome in there home & we had a splendid stay. Breakfast was excellent & very yummy & filling. Viv & Pete would do their very upmost to make your stay a pleasure. Our room was very clean & comfortable. If ever you need a warm place to stay then this is the one :-) A+ Vince & Della :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinceFrankham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I hope you gave the lovely piggies a cuddle from us when you got home! Sorry that herring roe was not available but maybe we can get it ordered for you next time. We are both pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfasts. You were lucky with the weather. Wasn't it just glorious! A little more overcast now so you had the best of it - for now anyway. Hope to see all of you again soon. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#20 of 149 in Torquay
146 reviews
0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#16 of 149 in Torquay
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#31 of 149 in Torquay
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#27 of 149 in Torquay
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Address: Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $59 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful detached 4**** Victorian Villa provides award-winning guest accommodation exclusively for adults. Enjoy peaceful and calm surroundings, exceptional levels of hospitality and service, and delicious breakfasts from locally sourced produce, cooked how you like. Winner of the English Riviera Tourism Award, Silver Award in the Visit Devon Awards and a "Highly Commended" in the South West Awards. Being also recepients of the coveted Visit Britain Silver Award and the Enjoy England Breakfast Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marina Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing