We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean B&B, friendly owners but confusion over room booking”
Review of Villa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Marina
Ranked #16 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Villa Marina is a lovely B&B, run by friendly owners. The owners gave us lots of useful advice about places to visit in the area. The place was very clean and the breakfast was very good too.

We would recommend this B&B to others however be clear on which room you are expecting. We booked through "Late rooms". The room we booked was a superior double room at a discounted rate of £75. However having settled into the room and looked at the guest information it was clear we were in the standard double room - which was quite small. We didn't want to cause a fuss since it was late.

We accept that the price of a standard room is £75 however that was not what we booked - you don't buy something at a discounted rate only to be given something of lesser value at the cash desk. We did give the owner feedback on this however the response was rather unsatisfactory - detailing why they don't have bunk beds in the rooms which seemed irrelevant. Possibly an honest misunderstanding but it did seem that they had decided that since we had paid the cheaper rate we should stay in the cheaper room so that they could still rent out the more expensive one.

Anyway don't let that stop you from staying there - just be clear from the outset which room you are expecting.

Room Tip: The standard double rooms are small and near the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quantumdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is nice to know that our breakfasts and all the other little details – that have just earned us the Top award in the Best Guest House category of the South West Tourism Awards, were appreciated and that overall you had a good two nights with us. However, we are a little dismayed to learn that you feel we 'downgraded 'you. We would like to reassure you that this was not the case and that you did have the room you had booked, at the rate as advertised by Laterooms for that time of year. The class of room and the rate would have been reinforced by me in my personal confirmation of your booking as well as by Laterooms. Clearly there was a misunderstanding. I hope this will not cloud your view of this lovely part of the world and we wish you every best wish for the future with your new addition to the family. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pete and Viv are perfect B & B hosts; so welcoming and friendly and providing comfortable rooms with fresh flowers, chocolates and fruit in addition to all the usual facilities. They keep a beautiful house in a quiet location providing free parking and as much information as any Tourist Information Office. We were made so welcome after our long journey with a delicious Devon cream tea and by the end of our stay we felt Pete and Viv were more like friends than just holiday hosts. We are happy to recommend Villa Marina to anyone who appreciates all the little extras that make such a difference.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful including a ground floor room if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Yes the time just flew past - you sere so busy! We enjoyed having you and it is nice to know that all the little extras we do for our guests were not only noticed but appreciated. We do try to go that extra mile to give good value for money and pamper where we can. - even if I did nearly drop the empty bean pot in J's lap! I can also now tell you that we won the Best Guest House category at the South Devon Tourism awards that we were going to on the day of your departure. We are thrilled to bits about this, but cannot do it without all the help and feedback we get from our guests. Come back for your anniversary! V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After calling several hotels ( premier inn, the grand hotel etc) which were all fully booked, we called villa marina as a last resort, having never stayed in a b&b i was a little apprehensive, how wrong was i, the host pete was very friendly and accomadating, first thing i noticed was the cleanliness! it was spotless, secondly the little touches, fresh flowers, chocolates, fresh fruit and a good choice of hot drinks and biscuits! breakfast was well cooked and we were made to feel very comfortable.
As we were leaving viv picked up on my interest in history and suggested we visit cockington, she also picked up on my husbands lack of interest in history and suggested we also visit the local zoo, we had a great day!
Would highly recommend villa marina, thank you for making our short stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uk461982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your response and for giving me a chuckle! I am pleased though that you both found something to your liking for your last day in the Bay. There is so much to choose from it is hard to know what to prioritise sometimes but it sounds as though you had a good balance. I hope you didn't have to traverse too many of our Devon lanes on the way home. They can be a bit unyielding if you nudge them but they are very historic some going back hundreds of years! We hope to see you again one day. Bye for now. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

i would like to say our trip was very successful because of the friendly atmosphere of the staff. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. Imust say how nice it was to be offered a cream tea on arrival. Both staff assisted us as my partner is disabled. We made a comment about it being chilly the first night and we were provided with a heater straight away and apoligies .The staff always asked how we were and if there was anything they could do for us. We made a comment on the need for a handrail at the steps in the garden and that was already being addressed.The breakfasts were well cooked and presented with options described verball and on a menue. We would not hesitate to return again as we were greeted with such freindly and cheerfulness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

You were both lovely and seemed to enjoy every minute of your holiday. It was a joy to be a part of that and to help you where we could. It was good that you had phoned to discuss your requirements for your husband and to know that we had decided between us on the right room for you. So pleased you enjoyed our traditional cream tea welcome and the breakfasts. We do like to spoil our guests if we can. I expect you are back at work now - hope they are behaving themselves and not making extra work for you! Thank you for the feedback. Always welcome. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I cannot fault Villa Marina. Our room was excellent, the food extremly good and Peter and Viv very good hosts. The extra little things like fresh flowers and fruit in our room was a nice touch. This was our third stay and we enjoyed it so much we will definitely be returning next year.
Wendy and Terry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

It was lovely to see you both again and do our little bit to help you celebrate all those years! May you keep coming back! Well done you two. Despite the weather forecast it was not too bad (was it?) and you did cram a lot into your few days. I am sure that we can still find plenty more for the next few years. Plenty to do in Torbay! We are both glad that you were here at our special winning weekend too. See you next year I hope. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for three nights 17-20 August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our bedroom was overlooking the garden and were very impressed by the finishing touches, chocolates, fruit and flowers in the room and the tea and coffee facilities with fresh milk not cartons as in most establishments. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choices and loved all the local produce and assortment of jams. Viv and Pete made us very welcome. We would certainly recommend to anyone and will hopefully be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

It was lovely to meet you both having met your relatives. A bit thank you to them for recommending us and good to know that you were not disappointed with their choice. I thought you would particularly enjoy the view of the garden and beyond from your window. Glad you approved, also that you enjoyed our local food. We do try very hard to go that extra mile to source good quality foods. It is worth every extra penny to see our guests tucking in with gusto and remembering what a good cooked breakfast (not just traditional English) can taste like. Hope to see you the next time you are this way. Love to all the family. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Host Peter and Viv are a nice couple who have made villa marina a lovely place to unwind nice and friendly nicely appointed and clean rooms excellent breakfasts a lovely place to be we'll definitely go back again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write one. It is always nice to know that our guests have had a good stay with us. I hope you enjoy the rest of the year and that see you again at some point. V & P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 150 in Torquay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#30 of 150 in Torquay
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Address: Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $63 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful detached 4**** Victorian Villa provides award-winning guest accommodation exclusively for adults. Enjoy peaceful and calm surroundings, exceptional levels of hospitality and service, and delicious breakfasts from locally sourced produce, cooked how you like. Winner of the English Riviera Tourism Award, Silver Award in the Visit Devon Awards and a "Highly Commended" in the South West Awards. Being also recepients of the coveted Visit Britain Silver Award and the Enjoy England Breakfast Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marina Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing