We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first stay in Torquay”
Review of Villa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Marina
Ranked #16 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our first stay in Torquay”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Vivienne and Peter gave us a lovely warm welcome.They are the perfects hosts and the breakfast was first class.
The hotel was clean, warm and very comfortble with nice touches in the room like fresh fruit, fresh milk for the tea making ( no UHT here) and fresh flowers. Its the little touches that make the Villa Marina first class.

Room Tip: All rooms are 1st. class
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed all our little extras. We do like to make our guests as welcome as we can. We hope that Dawlish lived us to expectations and that you had a splendid week there also. You must be home by now, rested and raring to get back to work! We both wish you all the best for the rest of the year and hope to see you again one day. V & P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
176
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A 1st Class welcome, to a 1st class B&B. Viv & Pete were the perfect hosts, 100% consideration for all thier guests,from advise on when & where to go, to the lovely gourmet Breakfast menu, which contained a wide & varied choice. the Hotel was bright, Airy & spotlessly clean. the rooms were tastfully decorated with the finishing touches of 5 stars, Flowers, Fruit, Sweets & tea & coffee.
we will definately be returning, and will recomend to all our friends & Family.

Dave & Cherry Stafford.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cherryd665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are glad you got home safely and with no ill affects from your party. I hope recipient liked her bracelet after trawling the length and bredth of Torquay for it. I am sure she will treasure it. At least you know what to give her next year now. Sorry the weather was not so good but I am sure Torquay can do better for you if you come this way agian. The garden is loving the rain - all blooming now and Pete is having a job to keep up with the grass. Bye for now V & P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The best Guest House ever. Viv and Pete made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived until the moment we left. We arrived early but that was no problem. We were given a fantastic cream tea, then shown to our rooms, they were fab, especially the finishing touches of flowers, sweets and fresh fruit, and room was spotless. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing was to much trouble. Highly recommended, and we will return sometime. Must not forget about the breakfast they were 1st class aswell. Just remains for me to thank you both again.
Sue B

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are both pleased that you had such a good break despite your Mums difficulty with her arm, I am glad that between us she was able to get a good nights sleep. We loved having you and thank you for being such a cheerful family. Maybe next time we see you the sun will shine a little more! V & P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have just come back from just a one night stay with Peter and Viv, wish it could have been longer. What a fabulous B & B, they have really thought of everything, from fresh clean fluffy towels to crisp clean cotton sheets all of the highest quality.
We will highly recommend to friends and will only ever stay here when we come to Torquay again, so glad we have found you.
Thankyou for making us so welcome, it really was lovely to find a B&B that ticks all the boxes.

Julie L

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank julsCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
We are both pleased that you enjoyed your little break away from Cornwall. I know it was work related but glad that you were able to enjoy something of Torquay at the same time and want to come back. There is so much to do in the area. Thank you for the lovely comments about the rooms and all the little things we do to try and make our guests feel welcome. Please come again! V & P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Viv & Pete made us feel at home.
Viv made us coffee & scones on arrival, the room was fantastic, they even thought of all the little extras.
Fresh fruit in the room, easter eggs and flowers, all made it, that little more enjoyable.
Decoration and detail is first class.
They advised us, where to go and eat and visit.
Breakfast was really nice,with a great variety, detail never missed, even the milk colour coded, brilliant idea.
Fresh Milk available 24-7, another brilliant thought, as you always miss these things when you are away.
Definitely recommend, and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Pete and I are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that despite the rather chilly weather on that first evening you did manage to get out and find some interesting things to do. You will be pleased to know that it has warmed up a bit since! I am glad that you liked the eggs and appreciated the fresh milk and the other little things that we do. It is good to have feedback on these things to confirm our belief that it is worth us spending that little bit extra money and time for quality and service. Please come and see us again if you are ever this way in the future. V & P x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Honestly the best B&B we have ever stayed in; a very clean and welcoming place and, on top of the excellent room there was Viv and Pete who were two of the most friendly and warm people we have met. They looked after us very well and the breakfasts catered for both myself and my vegetarian girlfriend. The small finishing touches made the stay a 10 out of 10 and I hope to go there again in the future. Andy and Gem x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Pete and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review for us. You were a joy to have staying and so glad that you enjoyed being at Villa Marina. Catering for special diets is never a problem as long as we know in advance as everything is cooked to order, as you like it, from fresh. So if we havn't got it we will get it! Hopefully the next time you come it will be just to relax and not work related! V & P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Our 3 night getaway (from Teenagers) was made all the more special by our stay at the Villa Marina.We arrived 2 hours earlier than the official check in time,but Viv & Pete told us it was no problem and greeted us warmly.We were offered cream teas and were told if there was anything we needed to just ask.The Hotel is beautifully decorated and is immaculately clean.
Viv & Pete and not forgetting Woody the dog are excellent hosts and we look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamarina22, Owner at Villa Marina, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that after being nicely lulled into relaxing away from the teenagers you did not get back to chaos! We do hope that you will come and see us again in the future and see what else the Bay has to offer. Woody says hello! V & Px
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#6 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#27 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#19 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Property: Villa Marina
Address: Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful detached 4**** Victorian Villa provides award-winning guest accommodation exclusively for adults. Enjoy peaceful and calm surroundings, exceptional levels of hospitality and service, and delicious breakfasts from locally sourced produce, cooked how you like. Winner of the English Riviera Tourism Award, Silver Award in the Visit Devon Awards and a "Highly Commended" in the South West Awards. Being also recepients of the coveted Visit Britain Silver Award and the Enjoy England Breakfast Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marina Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing