We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Communication”
Review of Villa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Marina
Ranked #17 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Communication”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Lovely, clean and comfortable and great breakfasts. But most of all Viv and Pete were very gracious and welcoming hosts. The" good communication" title refers to the fact that if you are someone who uses lipreading to help communication then you can relax and enjoy your stay as Viv understands completely as she is a lipreader herself.
To Viv and Pete thank you so much and good luck with all you plans especially digging out the rest of the tree stumps !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
178
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I booked this b and b on the spur of the moment and found it to be just what I needed as a base for a few days. Breakfasts were so good I didnt eat again until the evening. Pete and Viv were excellent hosts and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Good WIFI connection and parking always available. Quiet too with good double glazing. Being in the B and B business myself, I know how hard it can be to maintain such high standards especially with as much competition as there is in this area. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-atAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just got home from our 3rd stay at Villa Marina with Viv and Pete.As normal the stay was excellent..nothing is ever too much trouble for the fantastic hosts.Our room was spotlessly clean,with beautiful bedding and added little extras like sweets and fruit.The breakfasts are superb,cooked to order with fresh local produce,just what you need to start the day.We have already booked for next year and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiandAnt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a lovely stay with Viv and Pete. Nothing was too much trouble. The cream tea on arrival was a very welcome touch. The breakfast was excellent and we went for the extras of devilled kidneys and local smoked salmon. The room was very well appointed with the provision of fruit and sweets in addition to the usual provisions. Viv and Pete were very helpful on the local area both for attractions and dining. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex,uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at villa marina, and it was perfect! We came away for a relaxing break and that’s just what we got Viv and Pete made us feel like the first and only guests they have ever had. Very very clean, food was great our room was lovely and big (we stayed in Mallock) with all that we needed and more. If you’re like me who spent hours looking at different places to stay look no further you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: stop looking you have found the right one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louiseandgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for just one night here but I could have stayed for the week! The hospitality was second to none! We were greeted by both Viv and Pete and offered a cream tea on arrival which we took on the lawn in the glorius sunshine. What a great start to our stay! We were given all the local information and a map of the area and even some discount vouchers!

I was pleasantly surpised by our room. As we booked last minute, I expected to have a small, less "prepared" room but I was proven wrong! It was spacious with an en-suite and everything you could possibly need. The room looked as though it had just jumped out of an interior design catalogue! I loved the bowl of sweets and of course, dived straight in!

Unfortunately we didn't make breakfast (we took advantage of the fact that we were told we could check out whenever suited us!) but I have to say how kind Viv and Pete were to offer us some before we left. You don't find many people who would be willing to make you breakfast after all the other guests had gone!

Overall a great place to stay! I cannot think of a bad word to say! Viv and Pete have everything so well organised and nothing is ever to much trouble for them. A home from home!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Singer" room. It was the only room on the ground level and got lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucille2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at Villa Marina from the 1st to the 4th October as a planned long weekend down in Devon. With the unexpected heat-wave that weekend, Villa Marina suddenly was fully booked but you would never have known it from the attentive service we received from Pete and Viv.

We stayed in 'Mallock' which was one of the larger rooms upstairs - the one with the big bay window - and could not fault the room. It was light, bright and airy. Exceptionally clean and well presented. All the little extras such as fruit, chocolates and biscuits etc that were replaced each day only added to the quality feel of the room. It was also refreshing to have a room with quality solid furniture rather than the usual rubbish flat-pack stuff you normally see.

As for the breakfasts! They cannot be faulted either. The choice is unbelievable and the quality of the food and cooking is second to none. We can highly recommend any of the cooked breakfast menu!

The set up of the guest house is excellent. You will find enough parking spaces for each of the rooms and the right amount of tables in the breakfast room etc. All nice touches that makes your stay effortless and care-free.

Next time we visit Torquay we will definitely not even think about where to stay - Villa Marina!

Room Tip: We would recommend an 'upstairs' room as they all had king or super-king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherryTreeCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#5 of 149 in Torquay
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Property: Villa Marina
Address: Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful detached 4**** Victorian Villa provides award-winning guest accommodation exclusively for adults. Enjoy peaceful and calm surroundings, exceptional levels of hospitality and service, and delicious breakfasts from locally sourced produce, cooked how you like. Winner of the English Riviera Tourism Award, Silver Award in the Visit Devon Awards and a "Highly Commended" in the South West Awards. Being also recepients of the coveted Visit Britain Silver Award and the Enjoy England Breakfast Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marina Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing