We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice b&b. central location and lovely host”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Mia

Casa Mia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Mia
Ranked #31 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice b&b. central location and lovely host”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

i have been staying in this b&b for a few weeks now. compared with other place in plymouth, this is so far the best. very centrally located in the barbican with many restaurants to choose from. the room is very fresh, clean and homey. wifi works perfectly. bteakfast is nice and served promptly. the landlady is very lovely and welcoming. price is also cheaper than similar b&b nearby. can not ask for more

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
23
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We spent two nights at Casa Mia and were very pleased at its central location, within an easy walk of all the key areas of interest in central Plymouth. Our room was pleasant and overlooked the parkland of the Hoe, however we were disappointed that its refreshment amenities were limited at the outset, and then not fully replenished for the second night. It was also a little disconcerting to find our used towels had been moved from the bathroom towel rack - one into the bed room, draped over the radiator, and the other placed differently on the rack, so we had no idea whose towel was which. The bed had significant roll-together and a disconcerting amount of squeaking on any movement. The cereal options for breakfast were limited compared to other B&Bs we have stayed in, yoghurt was supplied on request rather than as standard, and juice was served into fairly small glasses then removed - all creating a needless air of parsimony. A few minor changes would make this a well above average option, as the raw materials of great location and surroundings are already there. These are the reasons for a (guarded) recommendation to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

As an ex-resident of Plymouth, I had come down to catch up with friends. This B&B provided an excellent base to get around Plymouth and surrounding areas, whilst being quiet and restful although on the Hoe. The room was beautfully presented and very clean. Our hostess was just the right level of friendly and we were looked after very well. I would recommend this guest house without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Nothing to complain about here! We stayed for 2 nights and everything was perfect. Great guesthouse and superb breakfast. If you're looking for a great value guesthouse near the sea front and harbour in Plymouth then choose this place - you won't need to look elsewhere as this has everything you'll need. Great hosts, thanks for everything. Ian, Mum & Dad!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2010

A lovely cozy guest house, with a great welcome. In a quiet location, very close to the barbican, restaurants and shops. The owner was very helpful and recommended places to go. Great breakfast. We are returning in the summer. I suggest you book early as it's very popular.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMiaPlymouthDevon, Owner at Casa Mia, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
I was simply amazed to find this 'review' which the writer apparently felt compelled to write some 9 months after visiting complaining of being cold during a stay here, especially as other genuine reviews written at that time,to be found on our booking site, praise us highly for the warmth of the house and care received!! I have to wonder if the reason is not a link with the other 'review sent in a few days previously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Have visited Casa Mia a number of times now and always receive a really warm welcome from the owner. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is ideal - short walks to the Hoe and the seafront, to the restaurants in the Barbican and to the shopping centre. Little extra touches like the free WiFi and the flatscreen TV's are very welcome - would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Casamia is a very welcoming b and b, in a fantastic location, the breakfast was delicious and a good variety. My room was on the first floor over the park it was a very spacious double room. The barbican is literally down the road and the shops I will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 84 in Plymouth
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral MacBride
Admiral MacBride
#39 of 84 in Plymouth
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#4 of 84 in Plymouth
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia

Property: Casa Mia
Address: 201 Citadel Road East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, spacious guesthouse in quiet central location, close to Barbican, city centre and theatres. Easy walking distance to bus and train stations. We pride ourselves on providing high quality personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Mia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing