We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapionted”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Palace - CLOSED

Thai Palace
Price range: $0 - $76
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dissapionted”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The service was poor, absolutely not what we are used and you would expect from a Thai restaurant. The food is okay nothing special, not authentic Thai. This place is too English, a shame. Very disappointed, would not recommend if you are looking for a real Thai experience.

Helpful?
Thank smeatontower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Thai Palace is a regular haunt for me when visiting Plymouth. Whether with a large crowd of colleagues or dining solo (as I did on my most recent visit), the service and the food are always to a high standard. As a starter, the mixed platter for one has all my favourite Thai nibbles - satay, fish cake, toast, spring roll, together with a delicious salad and a nice herby chicken piece. As a main, the chicken with basil offered an excellent balance of flavour and heat.

I think a starter, main and side dish together with three Thai beers for £30 is good value - perhaps not budget, but then again neither is the quality or presentation of the food.

Helpful?
Thank Dullardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Night Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent a Fantastic night at The Thai Palace Plymouth,
Exceptional service from the moment we entered the place, Staff very knowledgeable warm and friendly.
Great beer and the food was STUNNING!
Fantastic evening best meal out Ive had for a long time

A must for anyone who's not tried this!!!
Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thai cuisine what a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Situated close to our accomodation we took a chance and there was a spare table. Lovely freshly cooked food and staff were very friendly and helpful as we were unsure of what to choose. Vry popular place so we were lucky to get a table and would definitely visit again if in area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank otters2otters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

After hearing loads of amazing things about this restaurant we booked and were looking forward to eating here (it was only afterwards we realised it was the thai house on vauxhall street we had been hearing about). On arrival you have to enter through a grotty basement level then go upstairs again into the main dining room. Overall first presentation is it needs a lot of modernising. For starter we had a selection of thai things - springrolls tasted fresh out the freezer and the chicken was poor quality. After picking a main the waitress insisted I did not order it and would not like it, then I picked another and she did exactly the same (it was at this point I realised they were probably out of stock of certain things but didn't want to say). Did not enjoy the food or the atmosphere and found the service a bit scatty. Would definitely not return and am looking forward to trying the thai house.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Notafraidofflavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Palace also viewed

 
Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing