We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Restaurant, Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morgan's Italian - CLOSED

Morgan's Italian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Morgans is a modern, exciting restaurant situated in the heart of Plymouth. Formerly a Brasserie, we are now delighted to bring the best of Italian Mediterranean cuisine to our customers - from pasta and risotto to our speciality fresh fish and shellfish.Whatever the occasion, or whichever option you choose from our extensive menus, you will receive an effortless service - the delivery of expertly cooked food using the best, fresh produce We are open everyday! Monday - Fri Lunch 11.30Am until 2.30Pm Monday - Saturday Dinner 5.00Pm until 10.00Pm Saturday & Sunday Lunch 11.30Am until 4.00Pm Sunday Evening 6.00Pm until 9.00Pm
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Restaurant, Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have been here a few times and have never been disappointed! The best scallops I have ever eaten. The restaurant is very big which is slightly off putting but the food, service and atmosphere is brilliant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    133
    44
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Food 5 Minutes from City Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We visited the Sunday before Xmas 2013 for a family meal for all ages. Great location, good service and excellent food makes this a definite recommendation for a meal any time here.
Good value for money and conveniently located close to the City Centre (across the Parade) and 10 minutes from the Barbican.
Well worth a visit whether it's for a meal for two or for a larger group.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went to Morgan's last night to celebrate my sons18th birthday, there was 16 in our party. We were sat down promptly and within minutes served our meals. The staff were very professional and friendly. All our food was delivered hot and very well presented. I looked down the table and everyone had eaten everything.
Everybody had commented on how good the food was.
There were also other large parties in the restaurant and considering how busy the place was I was amazed how relaxed and confident all the staff were.

I would like to send my sincere thanks to the staff and management for making my son birthday 'the best night of his life'

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yashaj25, Manager at Morgan's Italian, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. It is lovely to read such a lovely review and we hope that your son had a wonderful 18th. We hope to welcome you back to Morgan's again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not sure why people rave about this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Ate dinner here with friends. When we first arrived there were not that many people there and it is a big restaurant with high ceilings so the lack of people made it feel a little cold and lacking in atmosphere. This did improve as more people arrived. The service was fine, but when you are paying good money for dinner, I object to being given a menu which is just printed on A4 paper and is slightly crumpled! The food was also fine, but when I visited the ladies I found it slightly off putting to see the door hinges caked in dust. Didn't look like they had been cleaned for months. For me, the food and service were fine, but there are better places in Plymouth.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindyLou854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Laden With Salt!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the second time I have eaten at Morgans. The first time was a few years ago and the food was lovely, albeit very tiny portions. This time I visited with a large party and although the portions sizes are now very generous, the quality of the food seems to have gone down in my estimation. I ordered the fish cakes for starters and I have to say they were lovely. For my main course I had the sea bass which was overcooked and absolutely laden with salt and the vegetables it was sitting on were just awful. I left most of that! For dessert I had the chocolate brownie which would have been lovely if it wasn't for the strange crispy hard bits which I'm sure shouldn't have been there!! Frozen, microwaved springs to mind! I also noticed on the two occasions I have eaten here was that the restaurant is never full. This time was a Friday night 7.30pm! If you can't fill a restaurant at this time that doesn't really say a lot for the restaurant!! Would not choose to go here again and wouldn't recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KazDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yashaj25, Owner at Morgan's Italian, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your starter of fish cakes but very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the sea bass. We always check back on every table, if this complaint had been brought to our attention on the evening we could have rectified the situation but as it has been left to Trip Advisor we can only apologise.

I can assure you that our brownies are freshly made on our premises as are each and every one of our desserts. You said the chocolate brownie was lovely which is great, thank you, I will pass this compliment on to our chefs.

Many thanks for your feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Italian also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing