We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeking out”
Review of Bistro One - CLOSED

Bistro One
Price range: $53 - $68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking out”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Can only echo previous positive comments about this bistro. Have been there several times now at lunchtime but never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nanawink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and wine.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is one of my “must visit” restaurants whenever I am in Plymouth. Chef and owner Stephen Barrett is passionate about his food and wine - a passion I share. He and his kitchen team are keen to promote and use fresh local produce as much as possible. The local mussels and oysters, River Yealm, are always a delight and beautifully prepared. The menu has a great selection of food, but there is always the specials board. Bistro One caters for vegetarians, vegans and patrons on a gluten free diet. During my last visits I had paupiette of duck from the special’s board. I thought the duck was perfect. A few days later I returned to try another main that I saw on the board, but instead was lured by the change in menu to paupiette of pheasant which was better than the duck. Stephen has a first class knowledge of wine and a very good wine list. I thought my knowledge was good, but his knowledge covers all regions of the world. His depth knowledge is genuine, he knows most of the wine makers I know. Consequently, I often let him chose a bottle to surprise me with a wine I may not know. This is another aspect of Bistro One. On top of the great food, wine and service, you can get an education about wine if you provide Stephen with the opportunity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Keep it up, Steve!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We always scan the Specials board with anticipation. All that Devon and Cornwall can provide, cooked and served with the care it deserves. Steve Barratt is a modest man but of great experience and skill. A more bombastic man would be a Celebrity Chef. This leads to an exciting menu and a remarkable choice of wines, provided at moderate cost. He is a strong supporter of local culture and gives themed evenings accordingly and others, featuring regional wines and food. Perhaps, because of his modesty, his bright bistro tends to be overlooked in Plymouth but your patronage will be rewarded. Now Ebrington Street is closed for a big hole to be dug, so we rushed ti support him. I only write about Excellent or Good restaurants and hotels. These days, with so much information available, nobody should fall into a bum place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank embleton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous little place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Started going to this restaurant through a groupon deal and have been back twice since in the same month we love it so much. Lovely fresh food and great wine. Excellent hooce of vegetarian options too. Owner is very personable and passionate about what he does, which makes this little place even better. A hidden gem in plymouth!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank calinalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Night Out”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Atmosphere was great due to company and had a very enjoyable evening. However, food was not as expected - good selection of starters and wondeful cheese board, main course OK but not as described. Staff very accommodating of dietary requirements, very pleasant and attentive service. Wine tasting appeared to be fun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ErgoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro One also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing