We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place to have your bash” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grecian Taverna

Grecian Taverna
Ranked #110 of 703 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely place to have your bash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went there on 7th December,for my wifes Xmas bash.The service was very good,and the food excellent.After your meal,everybody enjoyed dancing,to various music.the prices are good,and if you want a great night out,I reccomend the taverna.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    27
    9
    9
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never ever going back, poor food, staff very poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

we were part of a large group, as it was very busy due to xmas bookings, exceptions should be made, BUT, some of the food was ok, the vegatable mousaka, was vile, it had brussel sprouts in, found this odd, never had it done in this way before, it also tasted like meat juices, the staff were rushed and havent a clue when it comes to giving great customer service, poor service and poor food, only one positive, the music was good, in my opinion, if you cannot provide good food and good service due to volume, then measures should be made, customers will be lost

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snookes w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ANOTHER FANTASTIC MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thank you Grecian for a fantastic meal yet again. Wonderful value for money at £9.95 for a two course meal. The chips are real homemade, along with saute potato, rice, greek salad, cauliflower cheese all in with the price. Service matched the great food. Would recommend you visit soon though as they are so popular they get very booked up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beltup2drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltash
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Greek Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

For great Greek food. Great choice of food including English. Always busy and the atmosphere is usually quite noisy. Probably not the best place if you want something discreet however you will always enjoy the food and the service and it is right in the centre of Plymouth.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garthtuxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awful food awful staff avoid avoid !!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

All i can say is YUK i went to a friends hen party i am 6 months pregnant so the meal wall all was going for so i decided to order garlic bread to start then the beef fillet. Garlic bread was cold and the steak well i am also a chef so i know what i am talking about when i say the steak could of got up and walked it was OFF !. I tried to tell a member of staff but they were under staffed so i went to the bar i waited and waited sat back down with my friends when the waitress came to clear she didn't even ask what was wrong with my meal, i had one bite and spat it out so hadn't even touched it she took it back to the kitchen she came back and said that there was nothing wrong with it all she would of had to of done is smell it it was that bad ! she offered me a drink not a lot of point seeing i was pregnant the a dessert i did really want one of them either she really didn't seam to care apart from as long as i paid for a meal i didn't eat all in all avoid this place other i have spoke to said they wouldn't go back if it was free !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grecian Taverna also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Grecian Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing