We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DESERVES A SCORE OF AT LEAST 6” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grecian Taverna

Grecian Taverna
Ranked #111 of 702 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“DESERVES A SCORE OF AT LEAST 6”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Went to the Taverna last night (Thurs) for a spur of the moment meal as they are currently doing 2 courses for £9.95 (Mon - Thurs, 5.30 - 10).
Wow what a meal it was.
There are 8 starters, 13 mains and 6 deserts to choose from - probably the best selection for a set menu that I've seen.
We both decided to have a starter and main. For the starter I had Keftedes and my wife Taramosalada - both portions were a good size.
For main I had beef stifado and my wife had the fish, which was lemon sole.
The portions were very good and tasted lovely. Along with that we were served with a portion of greek salad, carrots/cauliflower cheese, saute potatoes (these were very tasty!), homemade chips and rice.
We aren't big eaters so there was actually too much food for us so we couldn't finish it all - we declined looking at the deserts!

I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. The food is brilliant and I cannot believe the size of the portions for the price!!!
The staff were lovely and we will definitely be back.
Go, you won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    27
    9
    9
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We had an evening meal here with our teenage son. The menu was extensive with a good variety. The restaurant has lovely decor and even though it was quiet when we were there it still had a great atmosphere (we arrived quite late after the busy period was over). The food was lovely (excellent T bone steak) and was very good value. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Myakhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great night at the Grecian Taverna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just been back to the Taverna for another family birthday.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone . From Mon-Thurs there is a special menu, £10 for either a starter and a main course , OR main course and a dessert! A few of us had the lemon sole, my son had a huge steak.. Amazing food and i cannot believe the price!!!
We wanted a quiet family meal so we booked for 7.30 when they play nice background music..
I know from previous visits that they crank the music up around 9.30 and then its party time!!
Staff were wonderful as always, and i will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolachristie1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“birthday party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

great food as always would tell any body to go staff couldnt do enough to make us comfortable. Birthday partys or just you and the other half.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Went to this place on a family hen night. The food was amazing and had music, dancing and soft lighting. Would recommend and will go again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grecian Taverna also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Grecian Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing