We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent service”

Treasury Cafe Bar Restaurant
Ranked #180 of 727 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Treasury restaurant and lounge is a contender for Plymouth most stylish venue for drinks and dinner. Set in a 19th century treasury building,The Treasury is now a stunning, super-sophisticated bar and restaurant with bright white walls, cool woven seating, huge neo gothic windows, soaring pillared ceilings, and original art. The vibe is young and cool. The chef's use the freshest local produce to create inventive seasonal cuisine of the highest quality, British with a modern European twist. There is also a upstairs functions lounge which can be hired out for events.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had lunch at the Treasury last week with a couple of friends. Although they were busy, we were given a table right away and the drinks order was taken promptly. When we ordered the food, I had a salad and my two friends had chicken and bacon wraps, they were asked if they wanted a bowl of chips to share which they declined. When the food arrived, so did the bowl of chips! We advised the waitress we had declined the chips, she agreed we had and said she had made a mistake, and did we want them anyway and we wouldn't be charged. We kept the chips and ate a few, and true to her word we weren't charged for them.

My salad was delicious, as were the wraps the others had and we enjoyed the whole lunch experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelleCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    107
    64
    40
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, UK.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Setting.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As the name implies, The 'Treasury' is housed in a period property and exudes sophistication. Very polite, efficient service, a good, reasonably priced menu, and a comfortable ambiance all add up to a pleasant dining experience. Ideal for, but not restricted to, 'ladies who lunch'!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuthorRSCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Level Contributor
236 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Modern well cooked food. Generous portions. Historic setting. Good service. Good looking afternoon teas. Buzzy.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very varied menu in a convenient and hiostoric city centre location. Pastas, burgers, salads all very good indeed. Service a little stretched and inattentive. Good for teenagers and young adults, families. Good looking afternoon tea with many big parties.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good lunch venue”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Came upon it by accident as we were walking away from the concrete carbuncle that is Plymouth shopping centre. Nice big space, in an old part of the building (Civic Hall?)well laid out and with very friendly, efficient staff. No request was too much hassle and the food was very good. I especially liked the chips, nicely fried and salted/peppered; well done!

Spent a pleasant 2 hours here, chatting and drinking and would use it again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“City break”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We reserved a table for friday night and enjoyed well made champagne cocktails followed by a great meal. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a lovely night so we returned the next day for lunch after our shopping trip. Lunch was the same menu but there were plenty of meals to try. We will definately revisit on our next trip and would recommend for the cocktails, food, atmosphere and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treasury Cafe Bar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Treasury Cafe Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing