We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousey Food and service”
Review of Wet Wok

Wet Wok
Ranked #27 of 722 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lousey Food and service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had chicken and sweet corn soup was very thick.
The sweet & sour chicken was processed and had no texture

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WEST0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    111
    47
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic view - Gloomy restaurant!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have tried this restaurant several times over the years mainly for its situation, but won't be going again.

It has one of the most fantastic views in Plymouth but once inside the gloomy decor makes you feel quite depressed, I don't think it has been updated for years. The entrance could do with sprucing up (a good sweep,a lick of paint, remove dead plants ). The food was very average, gloopy soup, tough meat...
The staff were very efficient but did not exude much bonhomie. It is maybe resting on past laurels but as there are quite a few upmarket restaurants springing up in Plymouth maybe they need to up their game.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tabcat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Twelve of us went for my husbands birthday on the 2nd March and we had a great meal. We had the banquet option G I think it was and there was so much food!!! The selection was great and there was something for everyone. All of the food was hot and the staff couldn't do anymore for us. We weren't overlooking the sound but as we were all off a ship which was currently moored out there it really didn't bother us!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“1st and last time”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

my first time in Plymouth on business and decided to have a Chinesse along with my colleagues. on appearances looked very authentic but on closer inspection the decor was very tired. We ordered 2 courses each, the soup was cold and congealed. Then the crispy duck came for main course the first one was cold which was sent back closely followed by rubber duck number two which was chewier than a shredded michelin tyre.
Next time i'm in Plymouth will give this a wide berth.

Helpful?
2 Thank siwarry66
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uni student mum”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just eaten lunch here with my uni daughter before heading home.The lunchtime menu is excellent value & the portions generous (enough to take a doggy bag for a cash strapped student to eat later & not too much trouble for the staff to organise), Try to get a table by the window to appreciate the views across the water - stunning location for a restaurant. Felt like we were eating on a boat!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet Wok also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Wet Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing