We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, terrible food”
Review of Cafe Rouge - Plymouth - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Plymouth
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Service, terrible food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having visited Cafe Rouge restaurants in London and elsewhere I thought I would get similar quality food, sadly that was not so. Whilst the service was friendly and very good, the food did not match that. I would not go here again or recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabarellafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    41
    41
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bude
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A little expensive, but food is good quality and service is friendly. Very clean and a good atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a starter to share, a main each and a drink each, really good price, great service, no being kept waiting too long.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Slow and indifferent service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went to lunch. The food was nothing special and the service was very poor. It took an hour for our meal to arrive and then they had got it wrong. No apologies. No price reduction. What should have been a lovely family meal was completely spoilt. Won't go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“won't rush back”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Its a chain so you don't expect fantastic food and as a previous reviewer said it was edible but nothing special,lemon sole floating in butter,ceaser chicken boring. It was a early lunch we arrived fifteen minuets before the start of the service the head waiter?never came back to see if we wanted any drinks was at the bar reading something more important than his customers,other staff were more attentive although never asked us how the food was.
There is a very good restaurant just down the road(The Chancle) the only reason we didn't go there was that we had a baby in a pram we will next time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madgePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Plymouth also viewed

Wembury, Plymouth
Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing