We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than two star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drake

The Drake
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Drake
Ranked #17 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So much better than two star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

I booked this hotel largely because of its proximity to The Hoe as that was where my son's graduation was taking place.
We arrived quite late in the evening, but the welcome was warm.
Thew room I shared with two of my sons was great. Two singles and a double in the basment with a leather sofa!
Rooms were clean and bathroom was excellent with superb shower.
Breakfast was plentiful, well served and cooked.
A great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveGCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    32
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
55
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London and Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

Having read the reviews of The Drake Hotel we approached with slight trepidation. But everything was made easy and pleasant especially the helpfulness of Nicky made our stay a great success.
Our room was large and airy with a small but adequate bathroom.
The dinner was extremely good with generous portions and with very pleasant house wines and it was not expensive.
After a quiet night we were given a most marvelous English breakfast which kept us going all day!
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and I would not hesitate to stay at the Drake again and have already recommended the Hotel to other friends.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabLondonandTanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

From the intial trlephone call from the Manageress Michelle to our last evening in the bar a totally refreshing friendly atmosphere. The room was small but not to smal clean and fresh . bed comfortable . Breakfast was good with a superb choice and nothing was to much trouble . in fact the staff went that extra mile so to speak. ..I wil definatly be booking for future stays in the Drake Hotel . it is just right either for a short break or jusrtovernight . if i was giving it marks out of 10 i think i would give it a 9 .5

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davphilliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

This had to be the worst nights sleep ever, the bed was so uncomfortable, together with only a blanket on top and the thinnest pillows possible it didn't make it a good nights sleep. We were in one of the rooms behind reception which were old and badly in need of decoration. The walls are paper thin so you can hear what they are watching on t.v. in the next room.
On the plus side, the staff were friendly, breakfast was good and plentiful and the location was brilliant - 5 minute walk to the city centre.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

What a wonderful place, apparently its now downsized itself. However now on two occassions, March of 07 and November of 07 myself and a group of friends stayed here, with enough room for all eight of us to fit into two rooms easily. The furnishings, fittings are all contemporary and theres no problem with night time access.

Breakfast you have a wide selection, and the owners and bar staff are all very friendly and professional.

I would most definately stay here again, it has the best access and location for exploring the days and nightlife that Plymouth really does have to offer. Especially if you are making a trip to the Theatre, this is a short 5 minute walk up one road.

  • Liked — its amazingly central location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carlideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel severel times, the first being 10 years ago, we were very surprised to find on this visit the hotel has become smaller, though making it a cosier hotel, it's clearly had lots of work done on it since our last stay, our room had recently been refurbished with new decoration and carpets. We were very pleased the staff remembered our last visit from a couple of years ago they were very friendly and helpful. We were greeted at breakfast with the same lady from our visit 10 years ago, We were given choices at breakfast of cereals, grapefruit, prunes, toast and a full English breakfast which was very nice. We will certainly being staying at the Drake on our next visit.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — no eve meals
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bradwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

DO NOT stay at the Drake Hotel in Plymouth. The front entrance looks okay but as soon as you step inside it stinks of stale smoke. There is a small bar just down a couple of steps from reception and every 10 mins or so the locals or friends of the owners make a mass exodus out the back door to have a cigarette and of course it wafts into the little bar. Our room was even worse! The 'hotel' was hardly full but we must have had the worse room in the place (not that we could compare). There was a big orange gash on the wall where a mirror had once been. The windows had been painted shut and the room was really shabby. The shower I had not seen the like of in my life ! It was a cheap old plastic head attached to the taps and when you tried to use it you couldn't turn the taps back off and it ended up falling off and breaking. I had a bath with both taps running because the plug didn't fit. One of the bedside lamps didn't work but reception couldn't find a replacement! Breakfast was okay if you stuck to bacon and eggs - if you asked for kippers or scrambled eggs (which were on the menu) the Eastern European waitresses would only say "only bacon and eggs" - this cannot honestly be called a hotel it's more like a bad B&B - and only deserves 1 star! NEVER AGAIN - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Helpful?
6 Thank Corinne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake

Property: The Drake
Address: 2 Windsor Villas Lockyer Street, Plymouth PL1 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Drake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drake is a family-run Guest accommodation offering B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Drake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing