We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Stadium”

Plymouth Argyle Home Park Football Stadium
Ranked #30 of 170 things to do in Plymouth
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stadium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Considering the lowly position of the team this is a superb stadium with 3 out of the 4 stands newly re built and the grandstand about to be re built together with a hotel, ice rink and cinema incorporated into it.
This will see the whole stadium transformed into a stadium more fitting for a Championship or even Premiership team!!
Let's hope the football can improve this season to match the standard of the stadium- Come on You Argyle!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“There's only one team in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Please disregard some of the other recent reviews on here. As an avid fan, I would be the first to accept the atmosphere is not what it used to be, given our league position over the past three seasons.
Argyle consistenly have the second or third highest attendances in league 2, just 2 weeks ago we had 13,250 for a derby match against Exeter. Each week we have bigger crowds than Exeter and Torquay together such is our local stature.
There are currently plans to renew our old stand the Mayflower to be started next season, although there is some controversy from fans re owner Jame's Brent's plans currently. Take it from me, as a regular attender over some years, visiting fans enjoy coming to Home Park and Plymouth,given the proximity to the sea. The walk back from the ground over Central Park to the station is breathtaking, with views over the city, Cornwall and the English Channel, simply unsurpassed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank connosuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'The sleeping giants'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

As a season ticket holder of Plymouth Argyle, I am frustrated at where the club are at the moment. When you look at this stadium, which arguebly is off championship standard (Other than the grandstand, which needs work) it is frustrating to see so many empty seats at every game. Those who say Home Park has no atmosphere clearly have not been in the devonport stand. I am in the mist of the devonport stand and i can say the fans sing throughout and are vocally backing the Green Army on the pitch, which is good to see/hear. That is the beauty of Home Park, you wont get much noise in any other league two stadium, maybe other than Bradford City (They were a side premier league 13 years ago if i recall?) We have one of the best fan bases in the league and i know that if Argyle reached the heights of where they were just a mere 5 years ago, the stadium would be just about full. We are a long way of that now, the priority is securing our football league status, then hopefully we can push on. While I think that league two is a fantastically competitive league, and i believe is good to watch (many will disagree) we should not be where we are with the squad we have. I have full faith in what John Sheridan is doing and i feel it is possible to get back to the glory days, as long as money is invested into the club to sign decent players for this league, we need to improve our perfromances in order to draw the fans in. Hopefully the grandstand will be modernised to make the match day experience all the more better for the fans. Lets get back to where we were 5 years ago! Believe in the Green Army! COYG!

Kane Winters

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Theatre of Greens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Home Park holds many memories through my childhood to the present day. The improvements planned for the area can only enhanc the great times I have spent at Home Park watching Plymouth Argyle.

Helpful?
3 Thank Deangallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Argyle”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Awful standard of football, very disappointing game. Poor atmosphere. Club in need of great investment in the team to be attractive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plymouth Argyle Home Park Football Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Plymouth Argyle Home Park Football Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing