We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice in Plymouth”
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Good Choice in Plymouth”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I found this hotel to be a good choice. Very central, yes the parking is a bit difficult but that's to be expected in such a central location. The room was spacious and clean, staff were polite and helpful and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 940nonnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    890
    413
    128
    71
See reviews for
566
657
135
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We regularly stay at the Jurys Inn in Plymouth, just for a cosy quiet night away, we live locally, care for parents. Parking, booking in. Our room, room facilities, location. We love it, it serves all our needs. Comfy beds, very clean, always enjoy the secure feeling of city hotels. Value for money on laterooms booking is excellent. Staff seem to have very good attitude. Particularly noticed bar staff.

Room Tip: all rooms seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanderson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear sanderson23,

Thank you so much for your review and repeated custom, it's very much appreciated. I'm delighted you always enjoy your stay with us and I will be passing your kind comments on to the team here.

If I can ever be of assistance for future bookings or anything else at all, please don't hesitate to get in touch at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards
Donal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning Common, Berks
Level Contributor
274 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A pretty standard hotel, made out of the ordinary by the quality of the staff. I spent 2 nights as part of a business trip and all of the staff I encountered could not have been more helpful. I needed a meeting room at short notice and one was found, cleaned and coffee provided in the space of just a few minutes.
Location is excellent, just a few minutes from the Barbican, University and main shopping centre. Ample parking. rooms are a little small, but perfectly adequate.
Rooms at the back on the 7th floor have a nice view of the harbour.

Room Tip: Rear rooms will be slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senglea, Malta
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Particular staff (will not mention names) were extremely helpful and even went out of their way to assist us. Will go again. Clean and spacious rooms. Safe at night and is located to the city center and the university.

Room Tip: I guess any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's great to hear the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

If I can be of any assistance in the future, please let me know at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Under staffed. But those staff that were there were friendly, smiley and helpful. Full of coach loads of people all going to breakfast at once! Although the staff did separate us this morning which worked, just. The rooms are comfortable and air conditioned. The bath is perfectly sized for me, small and shallow and the hot water plentiful and readily available. The hairdryer burns itself out after 30 sec so you have to dry your hair in stages. Chose a room away from the front, lifts and get as high as you can. I unfortunately have noisy neighbours, the doors slam very loudly. Use the back door if you want the Barbican. I recommend a restaurant in Vauxhall Street which you will come across if you exit from the rear of the hotel at Floor -1. Modern and clean. Free limited Wi-Fi. Don't worry about the time count down it resets itself when you next log on.

Room Tip: High and south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in June 2014. The check in was quick enough and staff were friendly.

The room itself is typical budget hotel chain with very functional furniture - open wardrobe, a dressing table, coffee table and a chair.

There was a double and a single bed in my room. The bed was comfortable enough though the pillows were on the hard side, even the additional "softer" ones that were placed on top of the wardrobe.


Despite the pillows, I had a good nights rest as the room was air conditioned and the double glazing did a good enough job of keeping the room quiet till morning.

The bathroom was a bit disappointing as the hot water pressure was non existent, which was most notable in the shower, where choice seemed to be either heat or pressure, but not both.

Tea and coffee making facilities were provided, not too much, but I always bring my own anyway.

An ice machine in the corridor proved useful for a cold drink later.

The room looked a bit plain and dated but there are notices up in the hotel saying that a general refurbishment is under way, so presumably the rooms will get better with time.

I didn't eat at the hotel, but did use the bar. Although efficient enough, the bar staff could do with learning some customer service skills and a smile wouldn't go amiss. One in particular looked like he hated his job and scowled at everybody.

All in all, there were more positives than negatives. Sleep quality was most important though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eggbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food in this hotel was low standard. The seating arrangements were awful. We were in a group of over 50 and we were put into a special area which was really too small and we found rtourselves having to squeeze past people or asking them to vacate the seat so we couold get out.We stayed four nights pork roast,on first night, beef stew second, port stew third and chicken fourth, there were vegeterian options, like fish and rissoto, pudding was two nights custard apple tart and fresh fruit and two nights trio of desserts, could have been more adventurous. Breakfast was not too bad, but lacked better fruit options. Hotel itself was clean and staff were very pleasent.

Room Tip: The first room I had was to the front and very very noisy with the traffic, on the third night I ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omaghdiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Property: Jurys Inn Plymouth
Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth offers the perfect city centre location from which to explore the beautiful city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. The world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive away. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable, newly designed bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing