We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
457 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night after disembarking the Santander ferry. Good budget Hotel, clean, comfortable beds and on the 7th floor, very quiet. For the price we paid, including breakfast, we could not complain. The staff were very helpful. Probably could do with a makeover, as the public areas seemed quite dark. The hotel is quite close to The Barbican, where there are lots of restaurants to chose. We left our car in the nearby underground car park, which cost £6. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Floor 7 at the rear of the hotel was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Glad you found us good value and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    865
    403
    125
    67
See reviews for
549
637
131
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Plymouth is a nice city and the Hoe has great views. We were staying just one night and Jurys was well located and at a good price so we booked via Expedia. The parking is at the rear of the hotel but it's tricky to navigate from the car park to the hotel and with cases this was irritating. It also costs £6 for overnight (discount for hotel stay) so budget for this. We didn't have breakfast but I fear this was a mistake as we couldn't spot a likely place nearby. There are nice restaurants nearby though and not far to the marina. The bedroom we had was kitted out for a person with disabilities so the bathroom was huge. The bed was OK comfort wise. However, the doors bang due to the closing mechanisms and this makes it very noisy with people coming and going and I have to say I didn't sleep awfully well. All in all ok for the money but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyfenSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review. I have passed on your comments to the maintenance team who will certainly be looking at the door mechanisms and the problem you have highlighted.
When you are next in Plymouth, please do contact me and I will ensure you have a quiet room and good nights sleep.

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr

helen_dymoke-marr@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my partner and our 3 year old daughter stayed at Jurys Inn when we went to a friend's wedding in Plymouth. Upon arrival we were greeted promptly, our booking found and given our keys by a very friendly male receptionist. Our room was on the 7th floor with a double and single bed - perfect! Little girl couldn't BELIEVE the size of her bed!!

We popped out for dinner on the first night and on the way asked if we could have an iron and ironing board which we were delighted to find was in our room when we returned.

Breakfast both mornings was excellent, we were there quite late both mornings but all the food was fresh and particularly loved the array of yummy pastries on Sunday morning.

Overall, a great stay in a great hotel. We have another friends wedding next year, expect our booking Jurys Inn Plymouth!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KBagCBagBBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, I have passed on your comments, particularly to the breakfast chefs who were delighted you enjoyed their breakfast!

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding in early sept. check in was not great, after a long drive with 2 small children the receptionist said one of the rooms hadn't been paid for yet even though we had done so at the time of booking. The receptionist wasn't very helpful and after about 10 mins of discussion said "oh its fine we can just charge the card you reserved the room with" why didnt she say that 10 minutes before?

One of the rooms was not ready despite us asking for a put up bed for a toddler, so more waiting with tired children.

Rooms were fine but basic. No free WIFI anywhere and ridiculous charges. the staff weren't very friendly and they didn't volunteer any helpful information willingly - it was like getting blood out of a stone. The housekeeping staff didnt speak to us the first day but different staff the next day made a point of saying hello.

The breakfast was good and the Duty Manager on the second day made a point of talking to people at breakfast and was very nice. He seemed to be the only good person there.

I wouldnt stay here again as I feel you get better VFM at Premier inn. Location was good but parking was extra on top of the hotel charges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawniedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly many apologies for the issues you experienced with us, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please would you get in touch with me at the email address below to discuss your stay.

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr

helen_dymoke-marr@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed 2 night's on my way to Cornwall, this hotel is perfect for sight seeing close to all attraction's lovely shopping centre .Our room was clean bright and comfortable, adequate for our need's. We had breakfast on our first morning but feeling full from the night before we just had coffee and toast £2-50 each on the day we left good value all round.
Easy to find and good safe parking at £10 per night we never used it again until we left,staff all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a town view this was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is situated in the centre of Plymouth, 2mins away from the main shopping centre. Myself and a friend were visiting someone in the Universities Halls. Absolutley perfect for visiting the university or local pubs/bars, all within a 10 min walk. Hotel was clean, tidy and staff were very helpful! I would reccomend it, and will certainly be returning again!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels dont suffer from traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting such a great review. We look forward to seeing you agin soon.

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel's five minute location near the docks is simply marvelous! Our room was simple but clean and more than adequate to meet our travelling needs as we toured England. We did feel that the WiFi was rather on the expensive side. The English breakfast was quite tasty with lots of wonderful choices!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb-terr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your review. Our location is indeed unbeatable for the Barbican and we are delighted you enjoyed breakfast.
We look forward to you making a return visit from Canada soon.
Kind regards

Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Property: Jurys Inn Plymouth
Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth offers the perfect city centre location from which to explore the beautiful city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. The world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive away. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable, newly designed bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing