We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but I would not go back”
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Unfortunatly the hotel have fallen over on basics the first problem was what I could only describe as a bogie on the back of the toilet door coupled with black hand marks. The tea spoon hand not been washed as it had tea lines on the handle then there was the curtain that every time I closed the curtains they came off the rail then there was the over flow drain in the bath room it was thick with black grease not been cleaned since I don't know when ? However the final nail in the coffin was that I had paid for a late check out to only be woken by a member I staff knocking on my door telling me it was time to check out which I informed him I have paid for late check out however when I went back to collect my stuff to check out at 1700 I had been locked out. Needless to say I won't be booking at a jury's in again !! The breakfast on the other hand was good

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamingronnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,160 - 2,166 of 2,577 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights whilst attending a conference at the nearby University. I obviously arrived at a peak time (6pm) as the check-in queue was out onto the street - this wasn't ideal as it was a freezing cold day and there were only two receptionists and a trainee on duty.

Anyway, my room was very clean, tidy and had a nice view of Charles Church. The bed was comfortable and the room was lovely and quiet. I was a little disappointed to find that only BBC channels seemed to work on the TV. In addition, there were no power outlets close to the bed so I had to charge my phone on the other side of the room (which isn't great when you want to lie in bed and fiddle around with your phone!) - that's a minor gripe though. Generally though, the room was fine - believe me, I've stayed in much worse!

I ate in the restaurant on the first night. It was a little slow to be seated and service was generally quite slow (but very friendly). Food was of a good standard.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. I arrived at 6.30am, asked for a table and the man on duty seemed genuinely surprised at my request - he had to check with another member of staff as to where I could sit. Very strange.

Breakfast was a reasonable buffet style. The 'hot' food was more lukewarm than hot and on both mornings I had to ask for knives to be provided.

All in all though, I had a hassle free stay and wouldn't mind staying here again.

One thing to note to the management - there was a group of workmen staying at the same time as me and they appeared to completely ignore the no-smoking policy (walking past their room in the evening was like walking into a pub in the 90s!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielrclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been unfortunate to stay here for the last 4 weeks as i am down in plymouth for 12 weeks. This week was the last straw. The bar team are good and Jack on reception is great. However the other reception team are awful. They seem to think their main job is standing trying to look pretty (and i mean really trying). The lack of urgency to attend to guests is incredible. It took me 15 to 20 mins calling down to reception for no one to answer. So i called from my mobile. As again no one was answering i thought while ringing i would walk down to reception to see what the problem was. I found two reception staff laughing with each other while their phone rang. No Guests around.

The Lady duty manager this morning came to talk to me as i wanted to see someone about my complaint. All i got was " Yes what do you want".

Other problems in this hotel include the poor food, Noise from the pubs and late night takeaways, Dirty rooms and housekeeping knocking on your door at 7.45am even when you have a Do Not Disturb sign on the door.

I will be spending the Extra £3 per night and be moving over to the much better 4* Hotel Holiday inn.

Room Tip: Chose a top floor so some of the road and party noise is cut down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvc876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and to apologise for the fact that you have not received the level of servcie that was expected.

All of your feedback has been taken on board and shared with the hotel management team at a recent management meeting. Following this meeting all managers have been tasked with reveiewing the procedures in their departments to ensure that incidents such as the ones described by you are eliminated.

I can assure you that we deal with all guest feedback in a robust manner and we hope that in the future you will feel that you can visit the hotel again.

Yours Sincerely

Graham Hole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My partner wanted to do a cheap night in Plymouth before taking me on to Torquay for my birthday we stayed here fit £49 on a Friday night and this was for 3 people breakfast not included!
Staff where very friendly only a bit slow when coming to check in and check out leaving the desk in maned and no way of getting hold of anyone! The room itself was clean a tidy I would say slightly better than a travelodge but not as good as a holiday inn but I'm not complaining for the price It was, only fault with the room is after we had been out all day we wanted to come in and watch some tv but are tv must ave been on its way out as it kept cutting out and freezing which is highly annoying when your trying to relax!, but I would stay here again as for the locations it's right opposite drake circus parking was slightly dear at £10 for 24 hours (Charles cross)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here in April and got a very cheap rate for bed and breakfast. The location of the hotel is good for Drakes Circus, the centre and North Hill.

The rooms are basic, but as expected for the price. Breakfast has a good selection of warm food and a range of cereals to choose from. All in all, a good convenient stay!

Only downside might be if you were looking for somewhere to park your car as there is no free car park available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigthumb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times,most recently in early April 2013 and for an affordable room, in a convenient location this does the trick.

The staff are fine (for example they let me check in early which was a great help - in some places you will be charged for that), and by and large everything is clean and tidy. (There was a mysterious stain on the wall of the bathroom, but aside from that).

The worst aspect is the parking. There are car parks nearby, but some have restrictions on how long you can stay, plus it entails hauling your luggage around or parking in the bus lane outside the hotel while you unload.

To sum it up, I would say if you can get a cheap room, you will find it to be comfortable and clean, but it's not going to rock your world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

this was my first experience in a Jurys Inn and while i would stay again, unless it was a particularly good deal i would rather stay in a Premier Inn

the location of this Jury's Inn is excellent for the city centre. They have no car park but you can park in the mall car park overnight for about £10. this does mean that you have to drag your luggage across the road but that isnt the end of the world. Tip....going through Primark is not quicker..........

The room was clean and comfortable, the beds were actually very comfortable and we had two of them which was nice! the bathroom isn't the best though. it was very dark, the only light being over the mirror on the sink....so when you shut the door you could hardly see anything. this isnt a problem if you can leave the door open but as the toilet is directly behind it you have to close the door to get to it. make sure you locate the loo roll first...........

if we stayed here again we wouldnt have the breakfast. it may have been there a while but it was very dried out...bit like eating cardboard.

if you are just looking for a place to crash for the night that is comfortable and close to the city center it is ideal. if you are expecting a bit more from a hotel, maybe best to find somewhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette_tr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $71 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth offers the perfect city centre location from which to explore the beautiful city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. The world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive away. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable, newly designed bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing