We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts in a beautiful quaint location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Boringdon Arms

Boringdon Arms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boringdon Arms
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Ipswich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts in a beautiful quaint location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank goodness for GPS! The pub is tucked away down extremely narrow fishing-village lanes, but has a stunning view over Plymouth Sound. A warm welcome from the hosts and their lovely dog in this character-filled old pub.

Staff were all really friendly and obliging and breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

We were surprised to find there was no car parking near the pub, being directed instead to a public car park down the road, which was full, so we had to head up the road to another public car park. Getting to that car park took three attempts as the road was very narrow and I had to back up for other vehicles. If we had lots of luggage this would have been a real chore as it was also tricky dropping off my family outside the pub.

Next time, we shall come by train and take a taxi to the pub.

Room was spacious and quiet, we had the quadruple bed room, which was ensuite and adequate for our requirements - beds were comfy and we slept very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den50008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely pub, free parking 20 metres from the pub.

We sat in the beer garden and had lunch and a pint. Food was fantastic...all home cooked.

The South African guy behind the bar was excellent, very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoCas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is tucked away in the small village of Turnchapel. Handy if you are a sailor and have come into Plymouth. Food is very good and the 2 course lunch very good value. Everything freshly cooked, pies varey daily. Booking taken, staff very friendly and efficient.
Drinks prices good. They have a conservatory at the back, also you can sit outside. From here you can walk around the coast of Plymouth, its part of the south west coast path. It also does B&B.

Room Tip: SOrry only had lunch. But a very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

On a diving trip here with friends not expecting anything special. It turns out that the rooms are clean and practical, the food was excellent, the nights bands were excellent and the hoteliers were top notch.
If you after a 5* hotel then it's not for you, if you want value for money and a warm welcome then stay here.
A special thank you to the bar maid that provided the asthma inhaler as I had forgotten mine.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricdo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We recently visited the Boringdon Arms for a small get together and lunchtime meal. The staff were very friendly and we received a warm welcome. We booked a table the day before and all went smoothly. Our small group ordered from 2 different menus, the standard menu and the lunchtime special. The food from both was excellent. The lunchtime special menu was particularly good value offering 2 courses from a 3 course menu at around £5. The fish pie was delicious. The pub had a good atmosphere with a wood burning fire in the main bar. We discovered the pub had recently changed owners and it seems to have made a difference. We would definitely feel happy returning to this one. There's a car park at the entrance to Turnchapel to leave the car and walk down. Parking in Turnchapel itself may be challenging during busy periods.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabs, Switzerland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A bitter sweet visit as I booked with one owner but the new owner honoured my booking even though they were closed. Although the pub and kitchen were closed during my visit the B&B was fine. Room standard was still high and the home cooked breakfast was superb as always. News is that the new owner will be improving the facilities even more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buellrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

we are in the fortunate position to be renting a cottage over the road from the borri so had no parking or accomadation issues, we have been for food three times which gives you an idea that the food is fantastic, the beer excellent and the staff friendly and extremely efficient. I can recommend the fish and chips, the breaded plaice and the steak and stilton pie.

if you are in the area and require food and or drink then this place is as the title says worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
1.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Mountbatten Hotel
The Mountbatten Hotel
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
4.0 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boringdon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boringdon Arms

Property: Boringdon Arms
Address: Boringdon Terrace | Turnchapel, Plymouth PL9 9TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boringdon Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Prestigia so you can book your Boringdon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing