We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to ruin the Christmas spirit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Future Inn Plymouth
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How to ruin the Christmas spirit!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but the future inn was the chosen location for our xmas party. The room looked lovely, everything seemed very organised & quite promising....until the food came out.

Pate was curling at the edges like it had been plated that morning, & the soup was like the juice drained from a can of tinned tomatoes. We then waited an hour for mains which were frankly not worth the wait. Broccoli & cauliflower that were both dark brown in colour with the consistency of baby food by the time it arrived, beef which you could have made shoes from, or dry turkey bits. (Mostly skin)...there were no 'slices' to be seen on or near our table. Roast spuds with a pubic hair; disgusting. Followed by dessert which took nearly another hour, and similarly to the starters, looked like they'd been plated that morning.

Tables did complain and received free wine; we suspected it was from their cellar of 'apology' wine which really would have been a great salad dressing.

I suspect 95% of those there last night were extremely disappointed, will not be returning & absolutely wont be recommending!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likesgoodthings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Future Inn. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion in particular the length service during your Christmas meal and the quality of your meal, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please let me assure you that this is not a true reflection of the high standards upon which Future Inns prides itself.

I will be contacting the main organizer of this event and I will pass your comments on to her, I did check with her on the night of the event and she was happy with how the evening was going, she even sent an email to say how happy she and her guests were on the night.

In the meantime I will share your feedback with my team and use your comments as a training tool so that this does not happen to our future guests.

Thank you for taking the time and effort to bring these matters to our attention and I would like to reiterate that your feedback is invaluable in our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services.

Antony Hayman
Food & Beverage Manager - Fishbone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    701
    227
    89
    58
See reviews for
582
577
91
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked a room to stay over for a wedding. The wedding was fabulous, the room was excellent, the food was TERRIBLE. The hotel knew the amount of people for the wedding, so the standard of food cannot be excused. It has to be the worst wedding food I've ever tasted and I know every single person at my table of 8 thought the same.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcr1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Future Inn Plymouth.
Firstly, I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the standard of your room. We are pleased that you found the room to be comfortable.
I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered with the food at the wedding you attended. We strive to offer a high quality of food, and I am sorry that on this occasion you do not feel we offered that.
I would be grateful if you could provide us with more information regarding the issues you encountered, so that we can look into ensuring the problems do not occur again. Please could you email myself with these details on carthur@futureinns.co.uk
I hope these issues do not deter you from visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights the staff are really helpful we were bed and breakfast and we could not fault anything the breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and we ate there in the evenings the food was lovely and the bar and restaurant staff could not do enough for us they were brilliant we will be going back next year for longer

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitas760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and it's food, and that you found the staff attentive and helpful.
We look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting a family member in hospital, reception staff very friendly, rooms very modern and clean overall happy.
Would like to give the restaurant a special mention as I thoroughly enjoyed my experience there. This to me was a surprise as I had been reading the poor reviews prior to my stay about the restaurant so was a bit nervous but I thought i'm going to be the judge of this. I had dinner on two occasions where when I entered the restaurant I was meted and greeted by the staff, I chose to eat from the early bird menu, my first meal being the ribs and the meat just fell off the bone I also tried the cod and chips which was a very nice portion size, both meals were very hot and were both delivered to me in good time and presented excellent!! I felt very comfortable in this restaurant and staff were exceptionally friendly, polite and attentive.
I don't usually write review but I felt I needed to correct a few reviews on here and would definatly recommend eating and staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to hear you found your room pleasant and staff friendly.
I am especially happy to hear you enjoyed your experience in the Fishbone restaurant. We have made strides in correcting the issues raised in the reviews, and it is great to hear that you agree.
I will pass your comments on to our food & beverage manager, who will pass on the praise to both the chefs and the serving staff.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding which was also held at the hotel. Rooms were well equipped , warm, and comfortable , standard rooms either had 2 queen sized double beds or a bed and a settee. Well nose proofed as we were over the wedding reception room on the first floor and couldn't hear any noise . Gym on the the first floor appeared t be clean & well equipped although we didn't have time to use it. We didn't eat the the restaurant but several of our party were disappointed with the service and quality of food although the wedding meal was served promptly with a smile ,and of reasonable quality for a large catered event

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Future Inn Plymouth.
I am pleased to hear that you found both your rooms and our facilities to be pleasant.
We pride ourselves on having a very friendly team, and it is great to hear that you experienced the friendly service we offer.
We hope you enjoyed the wedding, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chose the Future inn because of the location and although we only stayed for one night we were really pleased with the Hotel and staff,the room was very spacious it had everything you
needed very clean and tidy also their was plenty of free parking on site, we will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are very grateful for the kind words regarding the standard of our rooms and the professional manner of our staff.
If you wish to return, we would recommend signing up to our Future Club Rewards scheme, just check our website or ask a member of our team for more details.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the second time in the last few months when visiting our son at university. Room was very comfortable and clean. Very large with two double beds!! Staff helpful .Wifi excellent. Shower powerful and tea /coffee well stocked.

Will stay again !!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
It is great to read your kind words regarding our rooms and facilities.
We hope next time you visit your son you choose Future Inn Plymouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,342 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
29 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
760 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Plymouth

Property: Future Inn Plymouth
Address: 1 William Prance Road, Plymouth PL6 5ZD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Future Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Future Inn Plymouth boasts 143, spacious, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms equipped with all the modern convenient amenities you would expect of a quality upscale hotel with exceptional value for money. Future Inn Plymouth is in the perfect location for both business and leisure travelers to Devon and Cornwall. Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth City Centre, Plymouth Hoe, Historic Barbican, Sea Front, Fish Market, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Dome and the Theatre Royal are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Future Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Future Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Future Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing