We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards and Facilities Falling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Future Inn Plymouth
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Standards and Facilities Falling”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had our yearly stay here whilst my wife was on business. Unfortunately the standards, decor and facilities continue to drop as the hotel ages. This time our room had no safe, no working internet tv, no internet access and the mattress was starting to sag. Breakfast was a joke, having just been cleared out by the visiting coach party (again), there was some reluctance from the staff to prepare fresh eggs and toast. Still a fairly good deal for the price, but needs to do better and have a refurb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Future Inn Plymouth.

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced a few issues in your room on your stay with us and I have passed on your feedback to the maintenance and housekeeping departments.

I am very disappointed to hear that you found the breakfast disappointing during your visit and once again i passed on your comments to the Kitchen Manager and Food and Beverage Manager who are currently looking into the issues you have raised.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming youback in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    691
    226
    88
    57
See reviews for
573
568
88
451
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanellen, Abergavenny
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good location, short drive to town and other shops/restaurants close by. Hotel is of a good modern standard. Rooms are huge and well furnished. A step up from a Travel Lodge.
recommended

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Future Inn Plymouth.

I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be of a good modern standard and the rooms well furnished.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Future Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I booked this hotel online for myself, husband and teenage kids to stay in for one night (saturday) to visit family. It's situated towards the northern part of Plymouth, out of the centre, on a main road but very easily accessed. Hotel is modern, big and spacious with well appointed rooms. Plenty of space in them to move around and all very clean. We had 2 comfortable, queen sized beds in our room, with duvets which I prefer. Wifi available. Plenty of tea/coffee etc. No fridge. Air con which you can control/turn off! Good bathroom with plenty of towels, toiletries, heated towel rail. (No complimentary toothbrushes available from reception though as my daughter forgot hers!). Did have a slight flood due to the connection of the hose of the shower becoming loose and spraying everywhere but reception very quick to give us more towels to mop up. No noise from the busy main road. Big, free car park.

There is a restaurant/bar where you can have breakfast/dinner but we didn't eat here. There is a McDonalds, Pizza Hut and M&S over the road or abit further up at the next roundabout, The Jack Rabbit (at Derriford) or The George further on about a mile (at Roborough) which does a good carvery.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your visit to Future Inn Plymouth.

I am very pleaseed that you found the hotel to be modern, clean, big and spacious. I am also pleased that you found the rooms to be well equipped with everything you needed for your stay. We do however have fridges available in our King Suite rooms.

I have passed on your feedback regarding the shower in your room to the maintenance department who currently looking into this.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we llook forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Mixed reviews regarding this hotel. Lots of plusses, spacious rooms ample free parking and free wi-fi. Arrived after an extremely long drive, to be told quite by the restaurant supervisor we could not get anything to eat due to the fact they had had an extremely busy session and the kitchen is only small after I pointed out the amount of available tables there were. Lots of the customers they were accommodating were not hotel guests. Therefore there is no priority for hotel guests. He told us the restaurant operates seperatly to the hotel. The hotel staff said this was not the case?? As they unsuccessfully tryed to book us in. We eventually had to drive out to a 'toby jug' type pub which was ghastly, but you kinda know what to expect. We were on a deal which included breakfast. Thank God we didn't eat there the night before as the breakfast is disgusting and normally it costs £9.00. It is the worst hotel breakfast buffet ever and I felt sick all day. Rather go to Mcdonalds literally across the road. Yes the hotel staff are accommodating but unfortunately us complaning went around the staff like wildfire and they were pretty awkward for the whole of our stay. Which shows the unproffessionalism and immaturity of the staff probably down to poor training. It is a busy hotel but needs help for it to come together and make it so much better than how it is currently functioning. One last point I can totally recommend the Indian I think it is called Nimbana about a 5min. drive.

Room Tip: Just that even standard rooms are large. The A/C is noisy but just switch it off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Future Inn Plymouth.

I am very pleassed to hear you found the hotel to have spacious rooms and ample free car parking.

I am however disappointed to hear that you didn't receive the standard that we at Future Inns pride ourselves upon within the restaurant department. I have passed on all your feedback to the Kitchen Manager and Food and Beverage Manager who are currently looking into the isssues you have raised.

Once again thank you for comments which are being dealt with and hope to welcome you back to Future Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family and I (two adults, two children aged 2 and 4) stayed here in June 2012 in a family room.

I can only describe it in one word. HUGE !! You walk in to a very large hotel room with a double bed in it.... then you find a set of double doors leading to a second room, of the same size, with a double sofa bed in it. The place is massive.. my kids were playing hide and seek in it !

The room is clean, very modern bathroom, and (apparently) there is free WiFi, but just downstairs in the public areas (bar, restaurant, etc). It's right next to the main road, but we had no problems with noise.

The one complaint is that the Air-Con seemed to never switch off. We had the temperature set high (30'c) but it kept pumping a little cold air out - straight at our bed - throughout the night. Perhaps we had a one-off bad room. If we'd stayed longer, we would've asked to move.

At £94 per night (without breakfast), the family room isn't cheap, but Future Inn does do "3 nights for the price of 2" which brings the price down to a more reasonable rate for longer stays.

A great hotel, friendly staff, and a bar & restaurant on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleMikeAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was so accommodating.
We pride ourselves on being a clean and modern hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Future Inns Plymouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Lovely hotel, we stayed as a family in 2 rooms over last weekend and found the hotel lovely, good size rooms and very comfy big beds, the only downside was the rock hard pillows and the dreadful breakfast, we got down at 8 am so it wasn't late only to find a few poached eggs on a plate that were rock hard, cold bacon and hash browns and completely soggy cold toast left on the side, such a shame as it could have been so good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

We are pleased to hear you found our rooms clean and comfortable.
I am disappointed to read of the issues you experienced during breakfast; we aim to provide a wide selection of fresh items throughout the morning and I apologise that during your visit this was not provided for you.
I have passed on your comments to our restaurant manager to ensure this does not happen again.

We hope to welcome you back to Future Inns again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is now the fourth time we have visited and the experience was as good as the first.
Reception staff are efficient and accommodating, the rooms well appointed, bathrooms clean and well equipped.
Everything always works in the Future Inn, from lights and TV, to kettles and air-con.
All in all a stress free hotel for the discerning traveller. I cannot understand why this is only a 3 star and not a 4 star hotel, but value wise I am glad it is.
We ate in the restaurant which was less well staffed this time but the waitress on duty was charming and helpful.
There is plenty of free parking; important when the weather is bad and two large efficient lifts to all floors.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeP478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlymouthManager, Guest Relations Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for you recent review of our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that after 4 years we are still as efficient and accommodating as your first stay.
It is pleasing to hear your waitress was so helpful, these comments will be passed onto the restaurant manager.

We look forward welcoming you back to Future Inns Plymouth again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
754 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Plymouth

Property: Future Inn Plymouth
Address: 1 William Prance Road, Plymouth PL6 5ZD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Future Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Future Inn Plymouth boasts 143, spacious, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms equipped with all the modern convenient amenities you would expect of a quality upscale hotel with exceptional value for money. Future Inn Plymouth is in the perfect location for both business and leisure travelers to Devon and Cornwall. Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth City Centre, Plymouth Hoe, Historic Barbican, Sea Front, Fish Market, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Dome and the Theatre Royal are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Future Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Future Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Future Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing