We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tower.”
Review of Smeaton's Tower

Smeaton's Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$362.88*
and up
Plymouth and Dartmoor One Day Private Highlights Tour from Devon
Ranked #8 of 172 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The tower.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a must for holiday makers to come to I think that they is about 93 steps to climb if you are very fit person to do this, you can see for miles all around there is a safety rope to hold on to as we'll so you shouldn't fall a great day out on a nice summers day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    142
    29
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“family visit”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was incredibly good. I took my grandaughter who really enjoyed it. From the outside it does not look high up, but whenyou get to the top its amazing how far you can see, and the climb was something else. it was good to see where the old lighthouse keepers worked

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Weddingtrip147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“93 steps up Smeatons Tower”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Reasonable price to enter a very well kept lighthouse which stands in lovely surroundings in Plymouth - 93 steps to the top and safety rails etc done nicely out of sea rope so does not ruin the effect. My Dad, my daughter and I loved this attraction and were able to see the super views from the top - all accessible and you can go everywhere there is to go.
Great attraction - plus you get a sticker saying you climbed to the top for your holiday scrap book .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere port
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great attraction...”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Fantastic lighthouse, very close to my heart. A great climb, and wonderful views when you reach the top...Very good value for money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahsmith149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“ICONIC LANDMARK”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

An original lighthouse, dismantled and brought back to Plymouth and rebuilt. If open worth a look inside,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pensionersPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smeaton's Tower also viewed

 

Been to Smeaton's Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing