We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hot boxing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

It was 15'c outside, 28'c in our room, couldn't sleep without the window open but this means you hear all the noise from the main road outside and the clubbers coming from the oceana nightclub.


Hotel staff gave us a second fan but really it just pushed the warm sir around the room!

A bad night guaranteed!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Averagejo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    404
    114
    59
    40
See reviews for
351
436
37
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dont stay here if you want a good night's sleep
rooms are like a furnace, it has no air conditioning , and windows that only open a little bit and noise from the road if window left open was unacceptable, mainl from young people going to and from the Oceana nightclub, unfortunately after 2 nights of no sleep I then had a 300 mile drive back home. I did not feel safe and had to keep stopping for breaks with plenty of coffee


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjonesleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

One night stay and booked through the autumn Premier Inn sale so excellent value.
Room was large, comfortable , very clean and wonderfully situated with a fantastic view of the Barbican.
Good food to with great vegetarian choices.
I have stayed in many Premier Inns - this was the best.
Congratulations.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Barbican.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barca856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Paid £100 for a night. Family room was lovely to look at and clean but none of us could sleep as it felt like we were in an oven - we always have this problem in Premier Inns thus won't be staying in them in future. This was particularly more expensive compared to normal but was near to where we needed. Staff were friendly but would not recommend, it's a joke that they say you have a guaranteed good night's sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCaladine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked this pretty much at last minute as a one night stop over after a long journey Paid treble the amount I normally pay at premier inns. I have stayed in many premier inns and know what to expect. I found the main entrance seemed to be tucked away enclosed in, I dont know why I thought it overlooked the water I must have viewed the wrong pictures, the car park seemed smaller. Well I was given a parking permit by the two nice and very helpful lads on reception desk. My room again could not be faulted there were two fans already on in our room trying to keep the room cool and they did help alot was a bit of roudyness comming from outside our window during the night. The only thing that I would suggest is possibly the foyer and restaurant need upgrading. A really horrid smell of foist, dampness is present. The all you can eat buffet is also available but due to the size of the restaurant the cooked buffet part is only cooked to order which I was a bit disapointed with always like to help myself. Also wifi available in foyer also tucked away which we didnt see till we were checking out. Enjoyed the experience of a short stop in premier inn plymouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank care_bear_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights for our daughter's graduation ceremony. We wanted to be near to the Hoe, and this hotel fitted the bill well. Everything about the hotel was fine but we felt that the cost was far too high for a budget chain. Obviously the prices have been hiked up due to the fact it was graduation week at Plymouth University. If the cost had been £60 per night rather than £90 odd then we would have said excellent. Room was larger than expected, reasonably well equipped, and well maintained. The air conditioning was not working so the room was rather hot but one would hope that is a temporary problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September for one night, room was very clean and well presented, shame there was no way of cooling the room down though, we had 2 fans in our room but had to turn them off whilst sleeping as they were a bit noisy, other than than I cannot find fault, it's in a superb location and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Plymouth, well done guy's x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinkle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Address: 28 Sutton Road, Plymouth PL4 0HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#9 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of central Plymouth with marina views, close to the National Marine Aquarium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Plymouth (Sutton Harbour) Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing