We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Good central location, within walking distance of town centre, and barbican,
staff were good and room clean and tidy, can get a bit hot in the rooms but was not a
problem when we were there.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are quieter and benifit from a bit of breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matlisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    408
    119
    60
    40
See reviews for
357
441
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Had a room over looking the Harbour which was nice and quite, The only problem was in the bar at night where the staff could not cope and people had to wait to be served but the staff where nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for two nights and has been previously noted the rooms are hot!! The first night the weather was warm and the corridors were like saunas upstairs. The room was hot and got hotter we had the fan going all night and even with no bed clothes we found it too hot to sleep properly, the next morning a refund was offered promptly and courteously by the impressive staff. There were obviously many other complaints. The second night the temp had dropped outside and was raining and by early evening, having had the window open all day the room seemed cooler, but when we returned after dinner it was a lot warmer. The fan ran all night again and although far from perfect a better nights sleep was had esp for the children. The second night was our choice to stay and the children did sleep, so did not think it right to chase refund. I really think it must be a structual fault at the hotel because as it fills up the rooms get hot and the corridors unbareable , we were on the 1st floor at the back which was meant to be one of the best places to be coolness wise.
Take note car park small get parked and stay put. Pizza Hut , Frankie and Bennies those type of restraunts five mins walk away on industrial estate... Final word must be to Reception staff , Brilliant!!! polite and helpful and despite the really bad time they were having professional and smiling. I

Room Tip: back of hotel overlooking car park quiet and cool/er
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed for a short weekend break and were able to get the room for £29 online. The location is only a few minutes walk from the Barbican and is a good location to explore Plymouth.

The reception staff were very friendly and we were given an activity pack for our one year old. The rooms are modern, clean, with a large and comfortable bed.

However the hotel is ridiculously hot. We had the window open all night and also a fan on, and the room remained at 28 degrees C all night - far, far too hot.

The hotel clearly has a problem with this, as we already had a fan in our room and a laminated letter about how they will help you by providing fans and swapping the duvet for sheets etc.

The couple in front of us when checking out were complaining about it, and when we commented on it we were refunded in full without the slightest hesitation - so full credit to them for that. Apparently the hotel has had new, efficient windows fitted a few weeks ago and ever since it has been baking hot.

Overall an excellent hotel, very good customer service, however I would honestly only visit it in winter!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights with 3 small children. Great location, room clean and spacious but very warm even when mild outside and with window open and 2 fans. Staff very apologetic and gave us a second fan after 1st night. I did ask about moving rooms but was told all rooms the same and I did overhear a businessman making the same complaint. I considered moving hotels but in high season with 3 children for one night seemed like too much hassle.
On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was very good but we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qui-gonJinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Ideal for sightseeing, great staff, free parking and the rooms are clean but far too hot. The weather was warm but the room was stifling, it was 29 degrees centigrade at 09:00 am and the window was barely openable due to the health and safety brigade. No air conditioning and a fan struggling to cool the room. Do not stay here in warm or hot weather unless you like sleeping in extreme heat

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnboy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Premier Inn really go the extra mile at Sutton harbour. Definitely recommend great value for money and really child friendly

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasol02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Address: 28 Sutton Road, Plymouth PL4 0HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#9 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of central Plymouth with marina views, close to the National Marine Aquarium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Plymouth (Sutton Harbour) Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing