We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location! Spacious and clean flat.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ebrington House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ASheff
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location! Spacious and clean flat.”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely flat and really enjoyed our stay at Ebrington House. The flat was clean and there was ample room throughout. All the facilities were modern and easy to use. The parking was definitely a bonus being that central! Would recommend!

Thanks for a great stay!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray Y
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“A great central Plymouth location.”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

If your looking for self catering accommodation in Plymouth this could be the place for you. It is in a very central location, with it's own off street parking, although I should add that the parking area needs a little care when used, as it is shared, but you do have an allocated space. The main tourist areas like The Barbican, and Plymouth Hoe are with in 10 minutes walking distance, and the shopping centres are even closer. The flat is very comfortable, warm and clean with all you need for a comfortable stay. The flat is on the second floor, and the only access is via the stairs, although we did not find this any problem, anyone who has a mobility problem should consider this. Ebrington House is situated on a busy city street, with a pub across the road, and yes you can hear a certain amount of noise from the road outside, but hey, that's city living. Our contact at this property was extremely helpful, and the information he gave us regarding key pick up etc was 100% accurate. The big question is would we stay there again if we were visiting Plymouth again? The answer is a definite YES !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
price36
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation centrally located”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Steve's apartment has enhanced our stay in Plymouth. The apartment was in excellent condition and extremely well maintained, so much so that it could easily rival some of the nicest hotels. The boys and myself were very pleased by all the modern facilities inside the apartment and after a full day outdoors exploring the south west beaches we all felt at home at Ebringnton house with all the comfort it provided. Definitely would stay again xxx

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean2828
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice clean apartment”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Ideal location for the city, Barbican or the Hoe. Apartment had everything we needed, it was clean and quiet, and very reasonably priced.
Steve is a friendly easy going chap and was not too put out when we were a little late leaving.
Would use again.

Sean, Janette and Wayne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriea_2...
2 reviews
“Nice place, very central location however no information given”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The apartment is very nice and perfect for a short break. It could have been cleaner but I have high standards. There was a lot of dust and sticky marks on the floor. Some of the dishes were also not clean. It could overall do with a bit of TLC and a lick of paint.

The apartment was very difficult to find and is surrounded by shops, it doesn't help that we were given no address or directions to find the property. At the back there is parking however there is no sign to say that it is for this apartment block. The photo of the front door must have been taken a while ago as it looks rather run down and again could do with some TLC.

The apartment is in a block of 5 flats and this one is on the second to top with a lot of narrow staircases.

Overall if you want a inexpensive place to stay that is Central I would definatly recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2015
Thank you for your review of my apartment in Ebrington House and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your recent short stay.

I have checked with the Holiday Lettings website through whom you booked directly and they have confirmed that the full address of Ebrington House was provided following your balance payment along with key collection arrangements and my full contact details which should have avoided any confusion.

The photos were taken by a professional photographer in the summer of 2014 and although the apartment is located on the second floor of the building the staircase is of a standard width.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Ebrington House again in the future and thank you once again for your positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlineBoun...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Brilliant find - a beautifully appointed apartment, centrally located.”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I needed somewhere central to stay in Plymouth while my son settled into university life and this was such a lovely place - far nicer than a hotel room!

It was a little hard to spot the house first time, as it's set back from the rest of the shops a little, and I was driving alone, but what a find! It's almost opposite the Sainsbury's local and there's a car space at the back - another plus.

The (2nd floor) apartment is spacious, tastefully furnished (leather sofas and modern glass dining table), and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need, including dishwasher and washing machine, not that I used them in a 2 night stay. TV and Wi-Fi provided.
The bedroom was comfy, spacious and had iron and ironing board, hairdryer...I mean, nothing was missing!
Highly recommend this apartment - it was my first visit to Plymouth and it was nice to be able to look out of the window and get a sense of where I was (very close to the shopping mall and the university.)
The owner was extremely helpful - (I got confused as it was the weekend all the students were arriving, so some roads were not accessible, but luckily the one I needed was fine) he talked me through which street I needed to access the back of the building, and where the car parking was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall look and style of the apartment.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefBosu...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Ebrington House can be a little hard to find, but once you are in Ebrington St, if you find Sainsbury's and look across the street, it's behind the black iron railings. If you have trouble, just call the owner, and he will patiently give you directions. Twice, in my case!

The apartment is up three flights of stairs, but is very well lit and not cluttered by pushchairs, bicycles etc.

The apartment is very well laid out, and most importantly, very clean. All the mod cons, including dishwasher, are included in the kitchen area.

The lounge is very cosy, and warm. Two comfy leather sofas, and dining room table and chairs. One of the things I always like to check, being a movie fan, is if the TV has USB/HDMI connections, so that I can plug in portable hard drive. It doesn't have them. Not the end of the world, as the owner has left a small selection of DVD's. There is wifi available, at no extra cost.

It's a 5-10 min walk into the main shopping area, but if you just want a sub, there's a Subway and kebab shop right next door, or Tesco Metro a couple minutes walk. There is a pub right across the street, with a Wine Bar 50m past that.

The bathroom is a good size, and the shower/bath is just about right. Hair dryer and iron are stored in the bedroom wardrobe.

The bedroom is a very good size, with a CD/alarm clock next to the bed.

If I had to make one change to this otherwise superb apartment, it would have to be the bed. It was a little to low for me, and creaked whenever I moved. That said, it was comfortable, none the less!

Parking out the back is a bit tight if you have a large vehicle. There is rear access to the property, which adds another flight of stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped
Liked least: The bed
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing