We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet pint”
Review of Tamar

Tamar
Ranked #160 of 771 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family friendly local done just how a great British pub should be! Great friendly service delivered with a cheeky smile and a warm heart. With weekly entertainment from big night outs to help those weekends go off with a bang or bingo on Tuesday afternoon, we have something for everyone. Great for every occasion, whether a quick bit to eat, a family meal of just a pint with your mates to watch the footie we offer a great range of options to just about everyone.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Popped in for a quick pint as hadn’t been here since The Vibes played. That was an amazing show by the way. Served effortlessly as always. Bar seemed quiet but I expect that was due to it being midweek. Good pint of Guiness, quick catch up. Still a very good pub

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank hardyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at Tamar, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. If you haven’t seen the Vibes are back here this Saturday. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 413 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2020

Great food, massive portions and ridiculously cheap!!
Very clean. Live bands and lively atmosphere.
Gluten free options available and even Senior discounts. Food was great. Real ale too (comment at husbands request!)

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Smifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Tamar, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Five stars, Wow! Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub. We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. If there's anything further we can do for you, we are happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

Make sure you wear warm clothes.
The table service was good and friendly.
Value for money.
The location is central for everyone who attended.
Parking facilities.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank ruthclairemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Tamar, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Hi Ruthclairemax, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. We are sorry for the heating issue, we are looking at getting additional installed, due to the doors constantly opening we have struggled to maintain a defiant temperature. Hopefully his will be fixed soon. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

All i can say is what a great day and night had by us all. The food was great the service was excellent complaints to the member of staff called jo. Highly recommend this place. Thankyou all again. From a member of staff of mop bucket and broom.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank mandyc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Tamar, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Thanks for the five star rating! Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic evening, great food and very good service. We arranged a Christmas party with 39 of us meeting for food, and more coming for drinks later, the food was good quality and the service was top rate. A great evening was had by all. Thank you to the Tamar for taking such good care of us and our people.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank SobeyFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamar also viewed

 
Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth
 

Been to Tamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing