We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideally situated for sightseeing Plymouth”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Plymouth Holidays

Living room and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room and dining area
Kitchen and bathroom Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Living room and dining area
Kitchen and bathroom
Bedroom
Plymouth Hoe just minutes from the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IanJA123
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideally situated for sightseeing Plymouth”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This small property is situated in the heart of the Barbican area of Plymouth. It is basic but met all of our needs; we wanted somewhere to use as a base, and this was just right. The furniture and bed were comfortable, everything we needed from a kitchen was available. Bedding and towels were provided. We travelled to the area by train and the station is about a 20 minute easy walk away. The host, Matthew, was very welcoming and even collected us from the station on our arrival (free gratis) which was very much appreciated; he assisted us getting luggage into the property and gave us a tour of the premises. This property also affords use of wifi which was very useful. Being completely honest, there were a few minor issues, although these did not cause us any problems when we were aware of them: the switch to change water flow from the shower to the bath was sticking so we were only able to take a shower (not a problem to us) - I have made Matthew aware of this. The settings on the electric hob controls have faded and it is difficult to see what to set them to, however, once you know it also is not a problem. The last thing to be aware of is that it can get rather noisy late at night down the Barbican - we were so tired each day that this also did not cause us any bother. The location really is ideal, a few metres from the main Barbican drag, close to the harbour and a very pleasant walk along the sea front to the Hoe. There is a small Co-op a few steps away which is handy for any supplies you may need, and you are about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the city centre. There are a host of restaurants and cafe's in the vicinity so eating out is really not a problem. All in all, we were very satisfied with this property and will most definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelMon...
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The apartment is in a great location in a quiet courtyard off the Main Street of the Barbican with nice shops, galleries and places to eat and drink.

The area can be a little noisy in the evening but no more than should be expected for such a central location and we didn't find it disruptive at all. There is no parking at the property and the only access is by foot from the Main Street but it was no problem at all to find on street parking near by at a reasonable cost and there are long stay car parks within a few minutes stroll.

We stayed with our one year old and found it very comfortable and made use of the travel cot provided which fits in the bedroom no problem. It would have been handy to have a high chair provided, but not a desk breaker!

The apartment was clean enough, the important bits were spotless: the bedding, towels, kitchen units, sinks and bath. But overall the apartment wasn't as clean as could be in places dusty, unclean windows... Agsin not a deal breaker, fine for a short break, but if I was staying any longer I might have been tempted to get the marigolds out myself ;)

There's also a roof terrace which we didn't use, but definitely a nice extra. The owner was really helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rp43each
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent location, lovely place, parking on street is very restricted to times of day & limited to time allowed to park but nearby car park great & reasonable cost...certainly consider again on a re-visit...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie C
Hugh Town, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely location, lovely accomodation, couldn't have been more helpful”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

the apartment was clean and well equipped. Very comfortable Close to eateries and shops and a short walk to Plymouth Hoe.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spookyju1...
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“had everything covered”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Superb position, right where we wanted it to be. A little loud on Saturday night, but only to be expected. Could have been a littler cleaner, when I say that it wasn't dirty just quite dusty and the kitchen area needed a little more attention on changeover (bins not emptied). Overall we enjoyed our stay and the accommodation served it's purpose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the postition of the accommodation was perfect
Liked least: could have been a bit cleaner
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do give the apartment a comprehensive clean between each booking and I am sorry it wasn't as clean as it could have been for your stay. I will make sure all the nooks and crannies are given a thorough dust. As for the kitchen bin, this would of course usually have been emptied and clean; I'm sorry that this had been overlooked for your visit. Kind regards. Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowella
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient & well equipped quiet maisonette”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We found the property very comfortable, clean & quiet. It was well furnished & warm. Hooks on back of doors & a new faster hob on the oven would have been welcome. Main drawback was parking. One can, if lucky, park on the road lay--by outside but beware there are ambiguous signs saying overnight parking until 11am but less noticeable a sign saying loading only from 8 a.m We were mislead by this.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger D
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“A holidaymakers dream.”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

WOW what a pleasant surprise i had with this place, its superb and i certainly would love to go there again

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing