We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to learn about and taste new wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Vignoble

Le Vignoble
Ranked #1 of 184 Nightlife in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Lounge, Wine Retailer, Wine Education.
Saltash, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great way to learn about and taste new wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I visited Le Vignoble for the first time this evening and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the evening. I didn't pre-load a card and instead went on pay as you go. Every time you enter the card to dispense a wine the machine displays your running total so it was dead easy to see how much I had spent. the wines in the dispensers were a super range of regions, grapes and styles so there is something for everyone. Some cheaper, some less so but at from 60p for a 25ml taster it meant I could taste some wines I would never consider buying without it breaking the bank.

I was there about 3 hours in total and tasted many wines (lost count but at least 10) and the evening cost me about £17.

There was a small group of people that had pre-arranged a tasting evening in the bar and they were treated to a superb talk by the owner about wine and wine-tasting basics. He is a great presenter and I listening in. I would say if you have a group that are interested in wine then book a tasting session. Everyone seemed to be very much enjoying the evening... as was I!

Obviously this is a wine store as well as a wine bar so they want you to buy bottles to take home but there was never any pressure to buy and the emphasis was totally on tasting, learning and enjoying the wine and experience.

The owners are very knowledgeable and very helpful and enthusiastic. I really do not understand the few negative comments. If you like wine and want to experience some great wines without it costing the earth then this is for you. If you are looking for a restaurant, pub or traditional wine bar experience then you will be disappointed.

Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SnaxMuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review we really appreciate the support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    21
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best wine in Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

A really unusual concept that works so well. You put money on your card and then try as many wines as you want from the automated dispensers. All the wines are well described and there is a huge choice. The atmosphere is always good and the owner is very friendly. They sell charcuterie and cheese boards and you can also buy bottles to take away. Great location and Mrs H and I say it's the best wine bar in Plymouth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for your review Mark, it's great to here such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great venue for good wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I love the idea of this place. Had a really lovely time, and some great rosé! Would love it even more if the ambiance changed a little for the eve. Some dim lighting and music would get the wine juices flowing ;-). All in all a great place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxallv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your visit. We did agree with you and have now changed our evening lighting, I look forward to hearing your feedback next time you pop in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“BECOMING A HOT-SPOT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a good place to start or finish an evening or if you like have a day time platter of food with a couple of glasses of wine. Buy yourself a card to charge up and select whatever takes your fancy from the 16 wines Yannick and Naomi have put up for the purpose. Alternatively try a bottle of your own selection. You will find that your credit runs out very quickly on your card if you're the only one in your group who is a regular. I have noticed quite a few of local Plymouth media celebs getting in there recently perhaps because it is looked upon as a cool location. It is a very appropriate addition to the businesses encouraged by Urban Splash at R W Yard.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jertax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate the support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is simply THE best wine bar in Plymouth. Great welcome from the fabulous owner Yannick. Great wines, lovely ambience, great sharing platters. We come back time and time again and love supporting this excellent independent establishment

Helpful?
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Warren, lovely to hear and we really appreciate it. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vignoble also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Le Vignoble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing