We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start your evening”
Review of Le Vignoble

Le Vignoble
Ranked #1 of 192 Nightlife in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Lounge, Wine Retailer, Wine Education.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just outside the City centre, on the waterfront at Royal William yard.
An extremely pleasant and original experience. Just buy your card, and try a taster of huge range of wines, or sit quietly and enjoy a glass of something special. Very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful staff staff. Clean, fresh premises. with a casual, comfortable ambience. A great way to chill, or prepare yourself for a night out. We'll certainly be back.

6  Thank Jaspers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is great and exactly what this area needs, a touch of class and style mixed with fun and great wines

4  Thank TravelingTristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit, thanks for the support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We loved this place! It was really nice to be able to taste the wines before committing to buy a whole glass. I thought the tastings were reasonably priced and a nice new concept! It reminded me of similar bars in France. I would definitely recommend to anyone for drinks (and the nibbles are also yummy) and if you're on a trip it might be nice to treat yourselves to a bottle to take home as a souvenir!

6  Thank charliegodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thanks for such a lovely review, we really appreciate the support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It needs bustle, somewhere easy to do some drinking and nothing too formal. The White decor, the overcomplicated and not very practical arrangements of the bottles (try reading the price labels) and the little chairs (more suited to a tea shop or dentist's waiting room) are not conducive to tasting or drinking. Your conversation can be heard across the shop, which would not happen or matter if it were lively or convivial but in this cold heavily designed interior it is inhibiting and difficult. I like tasting bars which while new to Plymouth are a well established formula. This one is a bit over-priced maybe. The food is silly. There should be more of it even if it may never substitute for a meal. A brief taste of wines you fancy before you buy more to drink there and then or takeaway, but why is the delivery so surgical and processed? I liked the broad well selected range of wines. I admire Yannick Loue's experience and knowledge but Le Vignoble is no fancy soulless business expense restaurant bar as at St Mellion, this is mainstream Plymouth and it needs to be a more easy going environment. No doubt it will change and soon. Then I will give it the a max score. Meanwhile, the website still needs lots of work.

16  Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thanks for your review. Sorry you don't like the atmosphere or the food selection, but we do have a wider range of tapas available now so perhaps there's something for you to enjoy. Thank you for your compliment on our wine selection, as this is the main part of our business being a wine merchant and lounge then we are very proud of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A smartish place. Not posh but new for Plymouth. Slightly difficult for us because at RWY it is well out of town for easy use. Parking down there is poor and not a good idea anyway if you are intent on drinking. Le Vignoble is a nice idea and the staff seem very keen to please. We have been to places a bit like this in France. I will not mark it down but my problems were that it was not very laid back, a bit like a gallery opening, no jeans on our night, and the booze prices were a good third more than we would usually pay, although I accept that there is a very good selection of good wines here. We may come back but sadly we will have to add Le Vignoble to our very short list of venues which are generally unaffordable on our budget. We like to be able to kick back and enjoy ourselves without worrying too much about appearances. The pix on the heading show the kitchen/furniture showroom ambience. We reckon it will loosen up and become more useable over time. If the prices become more realistic then we may then become regulars.

12  Thank ChasC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, we introduced the £8.40 range to our wine list and we serve tasters for 60p and glasses for £3.50 so I do hope you come back to visit and see what else has changed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vignoble also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Le Vignoble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing