We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undoubtedly the best Bass beer in the world...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Hotel

Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #3 of 185 Nightlife in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
478 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly the best Bass beer in the world...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Whenever I visit Plymouth I make beeline for this pub on the Barbican. You either loathe it or love it, but you can't fault the beer, gravity fed from a raft of racked barrels. The local vernacular is a bit choice, but don't let put you off visiting this place, family owned for almost a century, which makes little concession to creature comfort. Great place to visit and enjoy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
33 Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    13
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
381 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,325 helpful votes
“First rate drinkers' pub in Grade II listed building.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We come here once or twice a fortnight before, after or instead of eating. The draught beers particularly the Bass are better tasting here than anywhere else. Occasionally but not often quiet, it is always a good place to be. The last weekend in August was a classic. We slipped out for a few jars on the Friday, before eating late at Platters and were just supping the second round, when the not quite perfect attempt of a one man shantie act slumped on the bar near the piano was unexpectedly eclipsed by the singing along and scattered applause for a couple of well lubricated pensioners who slipped in off the street to take over the corner on the right with their piano accordion and piccolo flute, and within minutes to have the pub seeming to seway and thump with the foot tapping and whistles and throaty chorus of a series of mostly recognisable Irish songs. We were truly torn whether to stay when the waiter from Platters arrived to tell us are table was finally ready. Predictably we were back in the pub two hours later for more Bass and the tail end of the amateur gig. Where else in Plymouth does this or something equally good fun, just drop out of the heavens?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
30 Thank Cr0wM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,255 helpful votes
“A real pub, my favourite in the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Can't praise the pub too highly. Traditional, casual, good mix of locals, regulars and visitors, very well kept Bass from the cask. If you are not British or are just accustomed to bland carpeted lager houses then the Dolphin is there to let you experience a real pub. Fortunately not at all pleased with itself nor lapsing into self parody. Great place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
25 Thank ChasC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
385 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,314 helpful votes
“Loved trad local.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Real ales, real fires, real people. No catering. Bring in take away food if you like. Best kept beer I have ever encountered. Although very slightly extended in the 70s this lovely pub looks as if it's not been hacked about for a very long time. I agree with others who say this feels like real historic and locals Plymouth. It featured about six years ago in a comedy cartoon mini series made by French and Saunders which caricatured the landlord and some regulars together with some slightly peculiar Plymuff accents. It was earnest and well intentioned but lasted only two or three episodes and was disappointingly unfunny, failing completely to capture the real ambience - but there you go, the actual pub is great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
27 Thank DougalM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 877 helpful votes
“Excellent ale.drinkers.pub. Old style not to everyone's.taste.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

In my view this is the best pint and the best pub for drinking in the city. It has good and bad quirks but it is a great place whether quiet or packed out.

Helpful?
28 Thank creasedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing