We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service.”
Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elfordleigh Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with great service.”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed here 4 nights a week, for a month. Great hotel with great service and good food.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poults-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    141
    90
    51
    27
See reviews for
102
153
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We have been here for many years now and it never disappoints. Fantastic value, the course in superb condition and the food was as good as ever. Rooms are huge, extremely big! The night porter stayed to serve us as long as required and the staff were attentive and helpful all weekend. A great choice for a golf break.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Hotel was very good and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were friendly and attentive.........however the swimming pool was poorly maintained with one of the spa pools out of action and the plastic grills around the pool edge were not fitted correctly or missing which is dangerous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jace935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Just stayed at this hotel for one night after family wedding reception.Hotel is quite large
and rooms are named after golf courses which is different.Our room was very nicely
furnished and had a good sized bath room.We appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities and supply of bath/shampoo gel.All staff were polite and friendly to us.
The wedding meal was very good and there was plenty of food.Breakfast was buffet/waiter style with a good choice of dishes.There are lovely views from the terrace
across the golf course and makes an ideal spot for wedding photographs.Only one small niggle I had a problem with turning off the taps in the bathroom.To be fair some parts of the hotel are being refurbished at present so perhaps this will be part of the
maintenance repairs later on.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2010

First Impressions you have to say that the grounds and the building look Fab......

A huge pink building set in some beautiful countryside...

Great parking just in the grounds of the hotel... However the areas are clearly marked for hotel and golf course parking... Why can't people read.... Golfers park around the back and stop taking up all the space in the hotel car park....

I'm not a great believer in having chairs behind a reception desk, it just doesn't promote the correct first impression.

Theres a serious lack of lighting when you walk into reception... its somewhat of a let down really.. you expect so much more from the first impressions that you get from such a grand looking building.

Rooms are fantastic... spacious and clean with great views. Only critictism.. A little sparce... perhaps larger pictures on the walls from a local artist of the local area.. You have all that selling space in a hotel room ... use it...!!!! I seen locals taking pictures whilst on the course.. have them put on canvas and sell them

The Golf course is fantastic ... beautiful area... well kept..

The leisure club was a god send, and well used by our group after 3 long days playing golf.

The Evening staff are fantastic.. It must be quite a worrying sight to see 40 blokes arrive and demand beer, however the staff covered this well.... I did hear some people complain that there was only 1 member of staff on at the time.. however I don't suppose its every day that 40 men arrive all at once.

Special thanks to Sam for looking after our party so well at the evening time and being the butt to our jokes, but it was all taken in fun and she ended up giving back as much as she got..!!!!

The Food.... Its ok.. If you're going to present a cold chicken starter with a micro salad.. then at least take the skin off the chicken.. If it's cold its yuk!!!!! but everything was at a good standard for the price.

All in all a good stay and look forward to our visit in 4 more years..

Final thing...... Service areas and offices should have the doors closed.. when guests can see into those areas it doesn't promote the correct impression when those areas aren't tidy

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMountain_goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I was meant to work on my three day stay and just relaxed a little too much. Massive room (Belfry), great walks around the grounds. Very child friendly (not mine!) and family orientated. Didn't use the pool but was very impressed by the leisure facilities. Must pack swimming gear next time. For a three star hotel aiming to be five star it's well on the way. Coincided with the Captain's Day (?) where all the local golfers descend on to the 18 hole green - very friendly bunch of guys like the staff themselves.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chairman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The Elfordleigh is a charming place to stay whenever you're in Plymouth. The hotel is cosy, and the service is friendly and helpful. I stayed in a premier room which was huge and very quiet during the night, although the bed was a bit firm for my taste. The leisure facilities are amazing and even more impressive for being free of charge for hotel guests to use. The hotel bar is looking a bit tired, but the service was willing, despite being busy on most evenings. Good wines by the glass at a fair price. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
68 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,391 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Property: Elfordleigh Hotel
Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing