We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening meal”
Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elfordleigh Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on the way back from collecting our daughter from Plymouth University. Nice quite surroundings and relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. Rooms plain but very clean. Most impressed with the evening meal presented very well with a lovely waitress and the food was excellent freshly cooked and the best I have tasted in a restaurant for a long time. I had the vegetarian option and it was lovely, my
Husband had the steak and cooked to perfection and my daughter the chicken . Super selection of puddings and the sticky toffee pud was a really good choice. The price of dinner , bed and breakfast rate for 3 of us was really good value

Stayed: April 2014
Thank mark1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 455 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Short stay at this hotel situated in its own grounds and its golf course. Our room was amazingly large, well furnished and complemented with a huge comfortable bed. Staff met were exceptional and the restaurant menu and food very good and resonably priced. Exceptionally quiet nights sleep and overall recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honcomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner was booked in to stay here whilst working away, I joined him for a short break. We stayed here for one night, on arrival the receptionist upgraded us (for free!) to a four poster suite with double jacuzzi bath with lovely views over the golf course & gardens :-D we ate in the bar, food was delicious & all staff friendly. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, good choice at the self serve buffet & hot breakfast available to order. We would recommend this hotel & will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcs4vlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here to visit the Traby Arms for a birthday dinner. When we arrived it was very busy with a hen party all enjoying the spa and bar refreshments. We left for our meal just as they were preparing for their evening dinner and fun. The bar is not very welcoming and would not have wanted to spend much time there, but OK for the golfers.
Our room was large and had a view of the grounds.......remember to draw the curtains if on a ground floor and undressing!
For a one night stopover this was good value and very comfortable. We heard no noise later in the evening/night so the place is big enough to accommodate a celebration without disturbing other guests

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were away for a few days. The hotel was offering a deal for the valentines weekend.
When we arrived, we liked the look of the place. And our room was huge. The bathroom was as big as my bedroom at home. When we started looking round there was cobwebs on the ceiling. The carpet was absolutely threadbare. The valence sheet was black where the Hoover must have hit it a hundred times. Certainly wasn't fresh on that week!

We decided to have a meal. One restaurant was closed and the other was sparsely occupied. We went in and given the valentines menu. The food was very basic, no veg and pricy. It wasn't until later we discovered we could have had the same items from the standard menu for less! I was given lager for cider.

The bed was totally beyond its sell by date. We had the worse nights sleep ever. The springs were in our back and we fell towards each other. If you got near the edge you fell out, which I actually did.

The wifi, which he hotel say they have, just worked if you was by the door, but unusable for anything.

We started to look on trip advisor (note to self to check here before booking) that others had suffered the same bed problem and the management had suggested that if they'd have complained they would have gotten a different mattress as they spares. Well they don't have spare mattresses. We asked, and they said they don't. We was offered a different room. Which was smaller and had the same rubbish bed.

I used the pool, which was nice. The bottom did look like it could have done with a clean. I can see why some people who had treatments had issues as where you chill, is where everyone else walks through. Bizarre!


The golf course did look nice, although I'm not a golfer!

Would I visit again, no.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank virago_midget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just got back home from a mini spa break at this hotel. Felt very relaxed even before we entered the spa as the staff were all so friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were very good, pool and hot tub were lovely. Oasis Spa staff all very friendly and professional, had an excellent treatment.Reception/restaurant and bar staff very keen to make sure we had a good stay. I've come home feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. Thank you. Only minor point is that the bed was too firm for me and the pillows were rubbish but I'd certainly go back again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank LarkrisetoCandleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked this through one of their partner sites, who had made a mistake on a description of the reserved room but this was not a problem as the lady behind the reception desk (Hannah i think) was more than happy to upgrade our room at no extra charge, as a gesture of good will. The hotel is set in 100 acres of peaceful grounds, and has a lot of character. Everything about our experience was really good. Decor in the rooms was to a high standard, with a view over the golf course, bed was comfortable and their breakfast menu had a lot to offer. I don't quite understand some of the bad reviews on here, but our overall experience certainly made us look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
157 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,577 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
211 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $84 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing