We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a mess! What a pity!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elfordleigh Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
DEVON U.K.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a mess! What a pity!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a two night stay to play golf.the course is well maintained and interesting.good green fees and buggy hire.
The accommodation leaves a lot to be desired.....We booked a'four poster'room and were surprised to find that the bed consisted of a four foot six lumpy mattress in a wooden frame.no drapes etc.The tea tray had 2 cups,1 saucer and spoon on both days.no bath mat on the second day and the towels very thin,small and rough.The bedroom furniture appeared to be circa 1950
The toilet roll was not replaced.

We had dinner in the 'classicaly decorated' Churchill restaurant on the first evening....having dressed for dinner after reading the website and assuming that gentlemen would be expected to wear a jacket,we were amazed to be seated at a bare table in a very stark dining room.we looked through to the conservatory area where we saw that the tables had cloths and asked the (rather pleasant)waiter if we could move.we moved only to find that The table cloths were plastic and thin paper napkins.The table'd'hote dinner was acceptable for the price charged,but the menu remained the same the following night,,so we ate in the 'brasserie' which is a cross between public bar and a transport cafe.although the staff were most pleasant and efficient
Throughout the building there was a very musty smell which one assumed came from dirty old carpets
.
All in all....what a dreadful shame it is obvious that this had once been a quality establishment.
We travel very frequently and have never had cause to write comments like these before















  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOBELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are sorry to hear your comments about your stay not being up to your expectations. Thank you for the positive comments about the golf and the food quality. We continue to improve the hotel and guest feedback is very important to assist with any changes required. Housekeeping Department have been made aware of only 1 teaspoon and saucer in the room and will ensure this does not happen to future guests. If guests feel the mattress is not comfortable there are spare ones that can be exchanged when required.
When eating at the hotel we have the more formal Churchills Restaurant and the option of the more informal Brasserie depending on the requirement of the guests. There have been very good reports on the food and we are pleased to note you enjoyed the Table d'hote menu.
There is continued refurbishment at the hotel including new carpets so we hope to see you return to the Elfordleigh and see the improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    128
    86
    50
    28
See reviews for
92
137
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked a premier room for 1 night to attend a family party. We planned to arrive in the afternoon to enjoy the leisure facilities before the party. We checked in and were given our keys to Room 2. What a huge disappointment that was. Nothing like the photos n the website. Very tired decor, dirty linen, lumpy duvet, cigarette burns in bathroom, mould on outside of shower. We both immediatley presumed we were in the standard room. We went back to reception to enquire if there had been a mistake, but alas no. All they could then offer us was a twin room. We decided to cut our losses and not bother staying there. We returned in the evening for the party, and on the whole our food was acceptable, but alot of people had ordered rib eye steak, and were given something different. The seats and carpets on the function room were stained and in desparate need of upgrading. Very disappointing visit suggest you call The Hotel Inspector for some well needed help.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieq03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel as my neice was having her wedding there. We were promised our rooms would be available on the Saturday morning early as we had a long 6 hour trip to get there and we wanted to be fresh for the wedding at 2 pm. We arrived at 8.30 and were told rooms would be available at 9.30, 10.00 at the latest. We finally all got our rooms at 11.45. The rooms had been booked for almost 2 years and my neice had checked on this several times. Bedroom a big disapointment poorly decorated, not a picture on the wall, mismatched furniture only plus point the bathroom was fine but bath really slippy and no mat. My mother who is in her late 70's almost fell twice.
Plus points tea on the terrrace and the grounds, let down by very tired decor and poor service.

Room Tip: Ask for one which has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairhi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a lovely two night break at Elfordleigh Hotel in order to visit Plymouth. The hotel is set in lovely grounds (golf course) and is very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was good and the reception staff were very helpful, they printed out directions to pubs for evening meals and were very friendly. We used the park and ride to go into Plymouth it's not far from the hotel and very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our second visit to the Elfordleigh Hotel in about 18 months and both were generally enjoyable. Whilst the hotel could do with a bit of upgrading here and there, overall the place is relaxing and comfortable. It is set is attractive grounds with delightful views over the golf course and adjoining countryside. On both occasions we were at the hotel for family celebrations held in the Elite Suite. Whilst the bedrooms are reasonable close to the function rooms they are far enough away so to not be impacted by partying etc. The staff, though few in number, are very helpful and appear to work hard to delight the customers. More than one bar staff in the main bar when the golfers return to join other hotel guests would be helpful! For those wanting to play golf the course is a good challenge up and down the valley. Tee times do seem to be available. Breakfast is good and cooked to order, and will keep you going for most of the day. All in all, if I am in the Plymouth area I would be happy to stay at the Elfordleigh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGP_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthLincs
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed her for a single night as part of a business trip to the South East.
Primary reason for booking this over a Travel/Holiday Inn was the expectation that the weather would be good and there would outdoor places to sit and enjoy the weather, plus the pool/gym was added bonus.
I was not disappointed by either the weather of the facilities.
The room I was given was very spacoius with the normal Tea & Coffee, Flat Screen TV. The Only commenst I had were the lack of string wifi (I am sure this was limited to my room location) lack of a Fridge and a very dodgy experience with the room key!
As the temperature heading down the M5 was nudging 30 degrees I was looking forward to a dip in the pool on arrival. The pool and leasure area was very clean and and the gym (which i didnt use) look well equipped. The Disappointment was the patio area. accessible from the pool. Given the forecast of great weather i would have expected the hotel to cleaned and maintained this area a bit better. It was usable...but only just.
Food and drink in the evening was excellent, but breakfast in the morning had very much a seaside B&B feel to it, not the best I've had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumberBridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a really nice spa treatment here with my daughter. No problems at all with that. Decided to have lunch in the bar and that really was pretty poor. 'Thick cut sandwiches' were plain supermarket bread, 'home made coleslaw' was anything but and the accompanying salad was pretty dull. The bar area was in need of a good makeover, there was a really dark area where the lights were either not on or didn't work and there were patched areas on the ceiling. Carpets and chairs were pretty worn. Judging by other comments we may have had a better experience with the food if we had eaten from the A La Carte menu but that doesn't change the ambiance of the place. It was just really disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Property: Elfordleigh Hotel
Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing