We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDEN GEM”
Review of The Lopes Arms

The Lopes Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lopes Arms
Ranked #40 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having eaten here before four of us decided we would go there again to see if it wasn't just a one off last time, I am very glad to say it was even better than the previous visit
The portions are very good for every meal we had no complaints what so ever for value, service and food,so keep up the good work.
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Age1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been several times and always been happy, its hard to find the 1st time (i was recommended by a friend) and yes there is a wait but if you want fresh food rather than microwaved I'm more than happy to wait. Also when I have been in for a work meal, we have pre-ordered and had our food within 5/10 minutes of sitting down. Everything is homemade, delicious and a good price (I would even say cheap for the quality you get!) especially the deal nights for £4.99! Staff have always been welcoming, polite and friendly. My only complaint would be that I have to drive there so I can only have one drink!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Visited on a few occasions now. Keep going back.
Stunning, homemade food at affordable prices. Its perfect for families too, with a great little kids menu. Everything, including desserts would appear to be homemade and we had some lovely little homemade chocolates with our coffee, which was a nice touch.

We will continue to go back to The Lopes for its great food and friendly welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nextmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

very good food and good service been there many times and havent yet been dissapointed
good family atmosphere close to the moors dogs welcome in front bar
highley recommended staff very quick at serving food ok for parking beer garden as well nice in the summer

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Like many pubs the Lopes has certain nights when it does special deals.
On Fridays between 5pm and 7pm they do fish, chips and peas for £4.99.
This coincided with the time we turned up so we thought we'd give it a go....and boy were we glad we did!
A monster size haddock came out on a bed of chips with lots of peas.
The fish was hot and tasty and the batter light and crispy. It was delicious. Even at normal price of £8.45 this would be exceptional value for money.
The staff are friendly and polite, and the service extremely efficient.
This play is certainly high on our list of return to's.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MaggyAggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We used to go to the lopes arms many years ago and loved it , its since changed owners and we have been meaning to go back but u never know if you're getting the same experience , but we needn't have worried the menu is wide for a lunchtime menu and the food was lovely hot and plentiful we will go back and won't leave it so long next time

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank axel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Millstones Country Hotel
Millstones Country Hotel
#35 of 79 in Plymouth
107 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
159 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
599 reviews
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lopes Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lopes Arms

Address: 27-29 Tavistock Road | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing