We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guest House”
Review of Athenaeum Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athenaeum Lodge
Ranked #18 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Viareggio, Italy
1 review
“Fantastic Guest House”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Athenaeum Lodge for 2nights, was a bit last minute booking on my part but I was glad to have found this fantastic little place. I've stayed in many guest houses in Plymouth, generally overpriced, no atmosphere and grumpy staff. This was a refreshing change, light area room, attentitive and cheery staff, top cooked breakfast and/ or cereals and toast etc and all only a 2-3 minute walk to the centre of Plymouth, bars, restaurants and Plymouth Theatre Royal. But also on a back street so as not to have to put up with frequent traffic noise and rowdy revellers at night. All in all a thoroughly content stay. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMViareggio_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    35
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
92
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

An excellently located Bed and Breakfast establishment situated close the Hoe,a short walk to The Barbican,even shorter stroll to the City Centre and the shops.My main reaso for coming to Plymouth was to see a show at the Theatre Royal and have a meal before the show.The Athenaeum is ideally situated for each of these activities.It is a place that I would definitely recommend to friends and visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yusmart57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Athenaeum Lodge is one of those rare finds these days when looking for a nice B&B. Our room was excellent with en suite included and more comfortable than many hotels we have stayed in. As we live in Oklahoma, USA we are used to American sized rooms but we were very happy with the room we during our stay.

Dave and Jane are perfect hosts who are ready to answer any questions you may have regarding local places of interest. Dave was especially helpful when pointing us in the direct of "The Commercial Inn" an absolutely local hostelry with unprecedented views of the marina.

Once again another establishment on our "return to" list when next in the UK especially as we now class Dave and Jane as friends and not just proprietors of an excellent B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we could see were of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britdgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Athenaeum lodge twice , and have enjoyed our stay on both occations, all be it only one night at a time. Jane and David are very pleasant and approachable people assuring that your stay will be a pleasant one. The lodge is within walking distance to the Hoe, ideal if you have someone who is graduating. A very nice breakfast starts you off for the day

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Plymouth (my home town) for a few days every year for many years, and always come back to the Athenaeum Lodge. I think we've been in every double room they have! We can therefore vouch that all are comfortable, clean, and supplied with everything needed (and if you have another need David and Jane will do their best to help or advise). It's a very friendly place and we've noticed that guests get talking over breakfast and share experiences. We're not really tourists, but we love the location of the hotel, so close to the Hoe. It's a great pleasure to wander up their after breakfast or in the evenings and sit and watch the boats in the Sound.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a very comfortable and clean place to stay. When I told our hostess that we were interested in going out for cream tea, she called her favorite spot to make sure they would be open, and suggested a taxi service. Very accommodating! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here during graduation and was very impressed with the location. Service and staff were great and if I need a place to stay in Plymouth again I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
754 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 78 in Plymouth
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Lodge

Property: Athenaeum Lodge
Address: 4 Athenaeum Street, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athenaeum Lodge Guest House is a charming Georgian Grade II listed building, offering bed and breakfast to business persons and holidaymakers from all over the world. Athenaeum Lodge Guest House is located on the Hoe, which is a few minutes walk to the city centre. The famous Barbican is also within a short walk from the Guest House. Other attractions a short distance away on foot are the Plymouth Pavillions, Brittany Ferries and Theatre Royal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing