We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewell in Plymouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jewells Guest House
Ranked #13 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Jewell in Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having stayed at Jewells on several occasions now, I felt it time to write a review to share our fantastic experiences. We have been fortunate enough to stay in two different rooms; one ground floor level and one lower level.
The ground floor room retained many original period features, was a larger than average room with everything that you would need for a comfortable stay. The lower level room was slightly smaller in size but had an amazing large power shower in the en suite.
Due to business commitments we didn't have chance to sample the breakfast so unable to comment on this however the look of the breakfast room was well presented and very clean in appearance.
Last but not least Keith has always been very welcoming. Not overly intrusive but an attentive host none-the-less.
I hope to return soon and would highly recommend this B&B for any travellers (business or pleasure) who are looking for superior, central accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    54
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
32
63
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I chose Jewells Guest House because of tripadvisor reviews and was a bit disappointed with my choice. It is a guest house so don't expect a small lobby or meeting area. You walk directly in and up the stairs to the guest rooms. The room and bath were clean but very basic, not a place to relax and enjoy spending time in bed. The smells of fried bacon wafted into our room each morning encouraging us to get up. Breakfast is cooked to order and filling. Jewells is located within easy walking distant to the Hoe and other sites. Guesthouses are plentiful in the area and although Jewells is not a bad choice, I will look into other locations for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

this b and b is nicely situated near the Barbican and the Citadel. Rooms very good and modern, breakfast ok, bathroom very good with the exception of the shower which was a poor flow.
landlord and lady very accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertiefaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely guest house, friendly owners, super clean rooms and wonderful breakfast. Couldn't fault any of that but ... having specifically asked for ground or 1st floor room because of mobility problems the owners gave them to other guests who arrived the day before and made a lot of noise about being upstairs!

My friend and I, both with mobility problems, had to tackle 44 stairs four times a day.

Room Tip: Make your needs known - very postively!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixen22_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Jewells for a 2 night stay and would deffinately recommend it. The accommodation was spotless and the bedding and towels pristine. Breakfast was lovely and served piping hot. The lady (I assume was the owner) was friendly and efficient. If I had any issue with staying there it was the fact that people would stand outside the front door to smoke but I suppose they have to smoke somewhere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of weeks with work and really liked it, the hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious, and I found the hotel staff to be very friendly. The cooked breakfast was perfect and a good start to the day, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rong236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
478 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This guest house deserves its reputation for being one of the best B&Bs in Plymouth. We booked at the last minute on Booking.com and were rewarded with a lovely spacious double room which included a single within it. This was fortunate, as the previous night in Exeter I'd eaten some seafood with ubon noodles at the Steak N Sushi, and it kept me up literally all night. I was pleased to be able to sprawl across the handsome double bed, with my wife kindly using the single. Breakfast the following day was most enjoyable, in particular because we were able to sit at the cental round table in the dining room. This allowed us to join in conversation with some Dutch guests who were making a brief visit to the UK. Europeans, not us, are perfectly at ease sharing tables, and we enjoyed their account of their visit. Keith makes a great mine host. Thanks

Room Tip: Number 2 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#2 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewells Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewells Guest House

Property: Jewells Guest House
Address: 220 Citadel Road, Plymouth PL1 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewells Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jewells Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewell Plymouth Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing