We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chip and fish shop!”

West Hoe Fish Fryers
Ranked #5 of 727 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: There are a few fast food eat in and out food places in Plymouth some of which have a modest cult status in the city either because of their prominent and convenient position or because of a consistent reputation. West Hoe Fryers has such a reputation for being close to the Hoe foreshore and parkland and foe taking care to maintain traditional standards. There is a steady faytime trade and often a queue for the cafe eating area. Worth a Tripadvisor listing.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best chip and fish shop!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Can't believe how good it was, definitely the best in Plymouth. In regards to the chips non greasy and tasty the batter was not too crispy and not greasy. Will be coming back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giant-Duckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    89
    41
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best chip shop ever”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lucky to have such a great chippy so close . Nick and his staff serve the best cod or haddock and tastiest chips ever. Always a smile and a bit of banter from the staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed just down the road from West Hoe Fish Fryers the last week in May, the Chippy was very busy and we were Starving-there was a long line of people so we were not sure if we should wait or not.
Glad we did, the food was excellent- "Proper Chips" and the batter on the fish was just right, crisp and not oily-in fact I asked the owner if he would consider opening a shop in Newquay!!
We did have to wait short time once we got a table-but the staff were very attentive and made their apologies while topping up up our tea and coffee with no extra charge.
Thank you West Hoe Fish Fryers for a lovely meal-and we WILL be call on you again!
Regards, Maggi and John.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan Maggi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“More than the best fish and chips in town”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We are two Aussies and came across this fish and chip shop in Plymouth and what a great experience. Thank you Nick for your great service and best fish and chips and mushy peas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent fish n chips!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after weekend in Cornwall. Came on basis of reviews and was not disappointed. Freshly made. Would recommend to anyone in the area and also reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soton_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Hoe Fish Fryers also viewed

 

Been to West Hoe Fish Fryers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing