We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Ivor Dewdney

Ivor Dewdney
Ranked #166 of 733 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Post code PL1 1NX
Restaurant details
Description: Post code PL1 1NX
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

No trip to Devon would be complete without an Ivor's Pasty. If you are in the area and have never tried one - put this on the list of things you must do!!! We took cool boxes and brought home frozen ones so we can continue to enjoy at home :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KandN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    18
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pasty pastry ever”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's one of the consolation prizes for having to visit family down in the Styx. A nice rich pastry, unlike most sawdusty barely-held-together-with-water pasties. The filling has plenty of pepper to give a nice zing. If you're after a Cornish pasty, bear in mind most miners were malnourished. This is what they would have wished for, something spicy, rich and moist.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Youpackofkunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not my favourite pasties!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Dewdneys are a legend in Plymouth but they are not my favourite pasties as that honour goes to Friary Mill! The service is good as this shop gets very busy and the pasties are cooked on the premises and are piping hot. I find them a little greasy and peppery for my taste as they are made of a puff pastry rather than shortcrust but thats a matter of individual taste. Not really a traditional Cornish pasty but a particular Plymouth delicacy that you won't find anywhere else in the world!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bettyboop859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
751 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Local pastys”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Been here many many times, had probably every pasty they ever made. Local firm one of two brothers, if you get the chance try Ron's different but still enjoyable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“our family has been a fan for over 60 years!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

When I first moved to Plymouth for Uni back in 2001, my Grandmother told me about Ivor Dewdney pasties, as she used to enjoy them with my grandad, dad & uncle back in the 60's! Whenever my family came to visit we would get pasties from Ivor's and they have a really distinctive taste to them, yummy. I recently returned with my husband to visit Plymouth after 5 years away, and when he said he fancied a Cornish Pasty, I directed him to Ivor's! It was a good as I remember. I even bought 3 mini pasties to take home with us back up to Somerset to give to my parents & 81 year old Grandma as a treat! needless to say, she was delighted! Only a shame they don't have anywhere to sit down, as it was pouring with rain outside! We ate in the car :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fiestycowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivor Dewdney also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Ivor Dewdney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing