We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hideaway Cafe

The Hideaway Cafe
Ranked #185 of 702 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Lovely breakfast, great, quick, friendly service and the best poached eggs!! Favourite place for a breakfast!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“**best fry up in plymouth**”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been eating at the hideaway for several years and it is by far the best breakfast in plymouth and so far devon and cornwall. The staff are all friendly you can tailor your fry up to what ever you want with no fuss. Quite simply a 5* establishment

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nickstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Cooked Breakfast in Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I come across this gem of an establishment purely by accident and so glad i did. it was mentioned in the office what was the best breakfast they had had, and the Hideaway was mentioned. Being just round the corner i visited and was not disappointed. Being a family business they take pride in their work. Zeta, Al and Jo run a tight ship. The staff are friendly and the place clean.
The menu is diverse and there is a large selection to choose from. when it comes to the cooked breakfast all appetites are covered. The gut buster is HUGE and is not for the faint hearted. It took me an over hour to devour, I was hooked.
Although i dont go for the gut buster I have a much smaller meal.it has now become my weekly routine. The family and I go there on a saturday morning. The place is always busy, but at no time do they let there standards drop.
so in summary if you are looking for a good quality meal that is cheap (alot cheaper than goodbody's and route 38) Then this is the place. you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This place must of changed hands. As this is not what I remembered it being like from a year ago! Yeh the prices are fairly reasonable but I have had a far better cooked breakfasts for the same price elsewhere, its just simply not worth the money. They must be making quite a profit as we where served with the cheapest ingredients and they where cooked so poorley that it made it far worse. We where left quite literally with a sour tastes in our mouths. The only good thing about it all was the service. We where very dissapointed. I would go as far as saying it was the worst fry up ive ever had. Sorry guys. We wont be back again!

Helpful?
1 Thank amybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway1989, Manager at The Hideaway Cafe, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that you are more unhappy than realised when commented on Facebook to have written this review that you have. We would like to take this opportunity to try and put things right and get to bottom of problem. First of we are happy to say that we have not changed hands in The Hideaway Café and that we have ran our business successfully for over 24 years with no changes to owners/managers. Our ingredients are by far not cheap and we do not make a huge profit and value all the business we get, hence why we need to put this problem right and that it means a lot to us. From having high experience in the wholesale trade we can assure you there are many cheap products on the market, of which we prefer quality so chose stay away from. Tasters and trials are taken place to make sure we are happy with the products we use, we would never serve anything that any of us haven't tried and liked ourselves. Ok we don't serve branded sauce but for high quality products used in our freshly cooked English breakfast starting from only £3.70, what more can you expect? As regards to the poorly cooked comment we have very little evidence other than your bad comments, Which we believe to be unethical of you to have out them on both trip adviser and Facebook when you haven't given us the opportunity to rectify our error. In doing so you could damage our reputation that we have worked so very hard for, as our aim is to keep our customers coming back and not drive them away, Especially when this could have been a one off bad breakfast which mistakes do happen and are normally put right on the day. Thank you for complimenting our service and we are glad you did noticed it. As previously commented if you had let us know at the time, we would have replaced your breakfast and reviewed the issue, however this wasn't done so we would like to invite you in for a replacement breakfast free of charge and so that we can make you a happy customer again.

The Hideaway Café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best cooked breakfast in plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ihave been to the hideaway on numerous occasions and havnt been let down yet. def does the best value cooked breakfast in plymouth. vast menu to boot. [ YUMMY ]

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank malky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hideaway Cafe also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to The Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing