We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has moved to Melville building.”
Review of Martin Bush Studio - MOVED

Martin Bush Studio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
United kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,278 helpful votes
“Has moved to Melville building.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not sure what is going on but this gallery has moved from it's prime site by the basin to the other side across the road from Seco. Word is that tenants have been moved from the Brew House to make way for a wacking great Las Iguanas Latin food chain. Looked into the Bush Gallery. Can't say I warm to it. Very odd pictures in mostly off colours like khaki etc. As others seem to have said it is biggish stuff and not easy to understand or make much off. The sculpture and other bits and pieces on display are worth a second look.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,257 helpful votes
“Strange and incomprehensible.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Apparently this place is on the move across the Royal William Yard to the prestigious Slaughterhouse building which so recently contained an important chunk of the Brit Art thing a few months ago. Good luck to any gallery business but like some other reviewers I find it very difficult to appreciate or make much of. The artist is obviously doing well to be able to afford the rents down here so he must have a lot of customers. There are still only a few businesses down in RWY so if you come in for a look round the yard you may as well spend a few minutes in here.

Apparently the present Martin Bush gallery site will be occupied by Las Iguanas the huge 30+ Bristol based Latin American/Mexican chain who promise 200 and more covers. With a planning application in for a hairdresser on the side of the New Cooperage near the wine taster/merchant it looks as though the whole place is beginning to come to life. Credit to Martin Bush for being a trail blazer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank ChasC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
381 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,329 helpful votes
“Not convinced.”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I had a very good look around this gallery and have since read the website. He is prolific, articulate and has views. I just do not find any of the work impressive, challenging, uplifting, informative or decorative. If people buy it, then it has a value. I am not sure that it has merit or is any good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank Cr0wM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Some pretty weird stuff.”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

As a non artist but having seen a lot of paintings in all kinds of contexts, I am prepared to make a bit of effort to interpret or open my responses to most types of work. My reaction here was that the paintings in this gallery were either simplistic and unimpressive or very peculiar contortions with no comprehensible significance or impact. The limitations may be mine. I just didn't get it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
28 Thank Croquembouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“A great gallery and a nice guy.”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Quite a mix of styles. Not sure I understand very much of it but a nice punchy mix of colours. The figurative stuff is quite scarey. But the painter is easy going, has travelled a lot and got ideas from all over the place. I think he takes commissions and will paint pretty well anything you like from shop and business signage through to varying blocks of colour that you could match with furnishings. But most of it is arty and very different from anything I'd seen before. Although I think he has some kind of art degree I don't think he went to one of the main art schools. His style is good, probably because he may be largely self taught. I'd like to own one of his pieces.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
33 Thank Tweedledum39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Bush Studio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing