We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant friendly welcoming stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial, Plymouth
Ranked #3 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I have now stayed in most of the hotels near the Pavillions in Plymouth , this is by far my favorite. I was here for two nights working I had a small but neat twin to myself. Good shower, tv and free reasonably fast WiFi. I was made to feel very welcome a most refreshing change these days of anonymous chains. Breakfast was good with a good choice of cooked to order food. I have been in four star hotels that are not as good as this. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial, Plymouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 743 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights breakfast was great place was tidy but that's as far as it goes stayed in room 16 4 floor room was about 3m sq you couldn't walk around the bed drafts from the window bulbs blown in the lights shower had no hot water shower curtain sticks to ever time you touch
would never class this as a 5 star

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Travelled to Plymouth for a wedding. Stayed here at the Imperial 5 star B & B. Only 5 minute walk into the city's main shopping area. Arrived at approx 11 pm at night and were greeted by the owner who was extremely friendly and helpful. Check in was fast. As my wife and i were here for my nephew's wedding. All our family's were already checked in. We met everyone in the large comfortable lounge. There is an onsite small bar area which was a welcome site for a late drink. We were on the first floor. The room was warm and comfortable. No faults here so far. Great power shower in the bathroom. There are approx 15 rooms i think here. 2 are apartment type at the rear of the building which also looked good. You wont need an alarm clock in the morning.Lot's of sea gulls outside to awaken you . Breakfast in the morning was up until 9am and 9.30 weekend's. Varied choice available. All looked great and tasted lovely. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Management organised an irish night in a nearby bistro as it was the night before st patrick's day. All went well here also. Lovely food and a few beers with music thrown in. Overall Plymouth seem's a nice place to visit. Some nice walks by the harbour. Massive indoor shopping centre only 5 minutes walk away. Would love to visit plymouth again sometime and admire the nice countryside around this very senic area of Devon. Would have no problem in staying in this B & B again and comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: All room's seem to be fine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here as were going to see a show in Plymouth. I cannot fault them, lovely hotel. The room was very clean and tidy and amenities were good for the price, nice to have a tv with lots of choice of channels. Breakfast was fantastic. The staff were really helpful, suggested a couple of places for us to eat which we were really impressed with. Will happily go back here next time am in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvergirlpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I happened on this one by chance looking at somewhere to stay prior to Uni open day. Despite the fact we were so late arriving and relatively early leaving the owners accommodated us beautifully.

Very comfortable bed. hot and strong shower. Brilliant breakfast. Hot freshly made coffee. Option of bacon butty if you are really in a rush.

If you DO have time to sit a while ( which I will make next time I visit) there is a pleasant bar, a lovely sitting room with interesting books for children and adults and some fascinating art work.

The location is superb. Thirty seconds from the Hoe.

Room Tip: Avoid basement room as unable to open window.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely room, clean and a nice decor. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast menu, kippers if you want them! And the option to have a bacon sandwich to take away. Not a lot I can fault. Will return on my next trip to plymouth .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_violet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have to visit Plymouth quite often, and occasionally stay over. i've stayed at quite a few hotels in Plymouth, and this is the one I will definitely go back to. Mike and Lou [and the rest of the staff] are very welcoming and friendly, and go out of their way to help. I arrived late for breakfast but was served without question, I needed another electric point, it was fixed while I was out.

It's very clean, nicely designed, with high-class fitments and bathrooms, free wi-fi, and very reasonable. Fresh-fruit salad at breakfast every day too, and a choice that goes beyond the standard "full english".

All this and free parking within a stone's throw of the centre of town - what more could you ask?

Room Tip: both rooms I stayed in were very comfortable so i can't help with this.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#2 of 21 in Plymouth
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial, Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial, Plymouth

Address: Lockyer Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $97 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial, Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is centrally located between Plymouth's ancient seafront, the newly regenerated city centre and the old quarter of the Barbican. Free parking - Family owned - Licensed bar - free WiFi Look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Imperial, Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing