We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acorns and Lawns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorns and Lawns
Ranked #37 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Acorn & Lawns, we've also booked for next year. Location is ideal, which from our room we over looked the Hoe very pleasant indeed, room was lovely, very comfortable we slept well, our linen and towels smelt so fresh, great shower too.
Paula was a lovely host, helpful and kind, we had fresh milk in our room for tea, biscuits too. Full English breakfast also fruit juice, cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt was all delicious, it certainly was my best meal of the day. Barbican and the town was only a short walk away, See you next year Paula, thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top double room
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have now stayed many times with Paula, who makes you feel that you are visiting a friend and not staying in accommodation. We have visited with and without children, in good weather and bad and it is always a pleasure to be there. Room 4 is "our" room with the huge bed and bay window opposite the putting greens, it is cool in summer, warm in winter and roomy enough that with two youngsters in tow you can pull two extra chairs in and still have enough room for them to dance. A wonderful house with an atmosphere that gives you a hug and welcomes you as you walk in the door and Paula, who is one of those gifted people who just seem to know how to make you feel relaxed and at home without appearing to try, all in all a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having not stayed in this particular guesthouse/bed and breakfast before, I wasn't sure what to expect!! I needn't of worried!
Paula was extremely welcoming to both myself and my 10 year old son!! Our twin room was lovely, clean and spacious with a lovely view of Plymouth hoe.
The selection at breakfast was wonderful, ranging from fruit, yogurt and cereals to a filling full English!! Paula became a favourite of my sons, as she kindly made him a smoothie each morning!!
I will no longer be searching for other places to stay in Plymouth............. It'll be Acorns and Lawns every time now!! Even my parents stayed here a week after me, and agree this place is lovely x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night in Room 4. A lovely large room with superking bed. Quirky pictures & furnishings in property except in our room - very plain and colourless! Surprised not to have tissues or a waste bin in bijou bathroom. Good to be offered fresh milk for the room, but disappointed not to have any fruit juice available at breakfast. Paula great for local knowledge, but would have been nice to have some local literature available to browse in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were attending a conference at the nice but sole-less Holiday Inn in Plymouth and rather than pay the Holiday Inn prices found this wonderful B&B just 30 seconds around the corner. I booked based on the Trip Advisor comments and ratings and was not disappointed. If you like a boutique feel with a personal touch then Acorns and Lawns is for you. The rooms were lovely and clean with nice touches like home-made biscuits by the bed. We were so well received and breakfast was lovely. I stayed for business but would have no hesitation in booking again for a stay with the family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found Acorns & Lawns on Trip Advisor and were so pleased we had. Paula is a perfect host and so helpful. We stayed in the large room on the top floor which overlooks the Hoe park. The room was spacious and beatifully presented and the ensuite had a great shower. Parking was easy and Paula can provide a permit for £2 a day. The breakfasts were excellent - full English breakfast and also a good selection of cereals, yogurts and fresh fruit. Excellent location for the Hoe and the Barbican and central town is only 10 mins walk. We shall certainly stay here again when visiting Plymouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are very picky about where we stay and after much internet searching were recommended this little b&b. Little in number of rooms but not on style, room size or comfort. All mod cons in an airy modernised home overlooking the park. Our hosts could not have been kinder and we would thoroughly recommend this place for a central, tranquil and stylish stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyaslarry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mia
Casa Mia
#31 of 84 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Phantele Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#8 of 84 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns and Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns and Lawns

Property: Acorns and Lawns
Address: 171 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorns & Lawns is a small, friendly guest house, ideally suited to couples, business people and those guests who are looking for some peace and relaxation. All bedrooms are en-suite and decorated in a fresh contemporary style with high quality fixtures and fittings. Two of the rooms have lovely views over Hoe Park. The other two are situated at the rear of the building for those who prefer not to hear any noise at all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing