We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inaccessible; limited parking; no facilities. In fact, absolute perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wonwell Beach

Wonwell Beach
Ranked #40 of 170 things to do in Plymouth
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Inaccessible; limited parking; no facilities. In fact, absolute perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

For all the reasons which caused disappointment for one earlier reviewer, this is the perfect beach. It is fairly inaccessible at the end of a narrow Devon lane. There is limited roadside car parking and no car-park nearby. There are no shops, no cafes, no facilities at all, in fact. Just a wide stretch of sand, the sea and marvellous scenery. Heaven. If you want fish and chips, funny hats, donkey rides and the like, there is plenty of choice elsewhere, but this beach will not be for you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnEdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A local secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonwell is our favorite beach, its quiet, relaxing but has enough space to do what ever you want, wether its water sports, playing ball games or beach combing. The people who tend to go here are of a similar kind and there doesnt seem to be any problems. It's reasurring when you look across the estuary at the packed Mothercombe beach looking like a human car park. I glad we found it a numvber of years ago.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rd-sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,277 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I, my family and friends, absolutely love this beach for all the reasons set out in Jarod's opposite review below. It is a bit inaccessible and all the rest. The scenery, the sand, the water are all just right.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't get too excited!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have read the reviews, a gem this, don't let this secret out that...problem is with so many great beaches in the area, this one doesn't stack up for many reasons, in my opinion. access to the beach a nightmare, single track road for quite some distance, if you meet a car the other way...watch out...one of you has to reverse....where there are passing spaces people park in them ( we are talking a hot July day though) using a tin opener we parked, got to the beach at high tide, beach was in the shade, the most disappointing thing for me was when the tide went out, no water to swim in, you had to trek to get to the shore which was shallow, lots of dogs on the beach too...with so many great beaches close by, that admittedly that will be busier, I wouldn't be bothering again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jarod_harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shhh it's a secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Super sandy beach - car parking limited so perfect for a walk. I recommend parking in Kingston and walking from there. But don't tell everyone

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CamillaW1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wonwell Beach also viewed

 

Been to Wonwell Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing