We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short drive from Plymouth”

Saltram Gardens (National Trust)
Ranked #17 of 172 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A short drive from Plymouth”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Car parking was not so easy at the week end but most people were just walking their dogs and not visiting the NT property. Perhaps if they charged?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    72
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A grand residence”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What to do on a day in May when it feels more like November with freezing rain pouring down?We decided to make use of our NT membership and see what Saltram House had to offer. It doesn't open until 12 but the cafe is available prior to that so we had a very nice cake a a cuppa while we waited. Come the time we went into the house and found it very grand indeed;lots of Chinese silk clad rooms and loads of paintings to learn about.It is a very big property with ornate high ceilings and the opportunity to see the servants areas as well.The guides were very enthusiastic and informative too. One of the best bits was a dressing up room;primarily for kids but some outfits were adult sized. This meant my husband could channel his inner Darcy much to the bemusement of fellow visitors.The grounds looked beautiful but we didn't want to get soaked to the skin so they will have to wait for another visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank iannpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Country in the City”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My dog's favourtie walk. Easily accessible from the city centre and a delightful walk round the country estate along the river bank. Never been round Saltram House but I hear it's very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnQ52Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning walks”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Romantic walks around the plymouth embankments, lots of families around, little cafe and a shop, little history and from the top you can see all city

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very interesting”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great place to visit and the staff/volunteers were really helpful. The gardens are lovely at the moment with the daffodils out, and there are a lot of walks from the house.
The house is really stunning and some amazing ceilings

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhafhjpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltram Gardens (National Trust) also viewed

 

Been to Saltram Gardens (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing