We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting visit.”

National Marine Aquarium
Ranked #12 of 170 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very interesting visit.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Enjoyed a couple of hours wandering around this complex enjoying the displays. Luckily we chose the feeding time for the fish which made it an even more memorable experience. Probably the only chance we will get to see sharks feeding apart from television wildlife programmes. It was wonderful to see the reaction of the children looking into the various tanks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank friday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    572
    248
    97
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PLYMOUTH AQUARIUM”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very modern. Rebuilt, located and updated a few years ago. A little pricey if visiting with the family but well worth a visit and once inside you will spend a day there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Keep trying ... each time confirms my view”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very sorry, but this is a shameful blot on the landscape of Plymouth ... unless you get a tour this place is dismal, dreary, boring and extremely expensive to boot ... big no no (is the second time I have 'done' this place and now feel qualified to say so)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_brooksbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A bit Fishy”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Although we found it a little expensive for entry we can certainly understand why. The upkeep of this place must be a mamouth task. To say I am not a big fan of fish (the viewing or eating of) I found this quite a soothing place to visit. It was nice to see the very large tanks and seating area's where you could just relax and enjoy watching the fish and sharks swimming around. I must admit wasn't particularly intestested in the small tanks and I would have liked to have seen a bit more interaction, like feeding times, but it appears these only happend in the week.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank soskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalMarineAqua, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Soskin,

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you found the Aquarium therapeutic, though it was shame you missed the daily feeds - Our Sharks are actually fed each morning (big appetites).

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best bit of the Aquarium is the location and the building. However, the inside is so uninspiring. Firstly, it is not cheap and then the most enduring memory is the long dark corridors between one tank and the next and being forced out through the giftshop full of plastic rubbish (although, it tends to be much more interesting to children than the real exhibits).
The Aquarium has an old fashion feel, in that it appears years behind other ones of a similar age. It feels like a wasted opportunity to be something really good. The most interesting part is the Local reef, with the really deep, large tank, stocked with local fish. Unfortunately there used to be some really great specimens in that tank (fish that were over 30 years old), but they managed to kill the majority, a little while ago, when their generator stopped working. A great shame.
The restaurant is the most soul-less place (incredible, given the surroundings and view), with food that is average at best.
It just lacks vision...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCParade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalMarineAqua, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi JCParade,

Thanks for your feedback. As a charity we take all comments seriously, and endeavour for everyone to have a positive experience with us. With regard our prices, we feel our Adult ticket price of £11.75 is very reasonable in comparison to other local, and national attractions. On top of that for those who choose to Gift Aid for no extra cost we offer a years free return.

The low lighting is designed to focus visitors on the tank spaces, and this is something you'll find as an industry standard in aquaria. As a self funded charity, our gift shop helps fund the the cost of running the aquarium, and helps us meet our charitable objectives.

With regard to vision the charity facilitates the education of 30,000 plus children on curriculum based learning, promotes, and funds marine conservation in the international forum.

Thanks again for you feedback, and we hope you take advantage of the Day Plus Pass and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing